Ratings based on 563 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gilbert, AZ

Very average

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Clean and good bed.
Location: In a business district with few restaurants or shopping near by. Quiet area.
Nice king size bed but there were just two many little things that were a disappointment. No fan in bathroom so it steamed up badly. No hangers for towels. Had the old school A/C heater and fan was noisy. Turned on heat and terrible smell came from it...like it hadn’t been cleaned for ever. Breakfast was pretty bad. Everything tasted processed. Could not eat the self Made pancakes...were like glue and could not cut them. Fresh cinnamon rolls were good. Scrambled eggs and sausage were ok but too much like the egg beaters you get at Micky D’s. Staff was friendly and hotel was very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by E. Santos - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. Please know that you feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. Again, thank you. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to San Diego.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancaster, ca

Nice hotel, decent price

Posted Oct 15, 2017
I was looking for a hotel that was near sea world that was clean, quiet, and at a reasonable price. I decided to stay here based on the reviews and i'm glad I did. The woman at the front desk was really nice and outgoing, she made my husband and I feel welcomed. The hotel was clean and the mattress was very comfortable. There is a chilis restaurant right outside the hotel with other restaurants near by. I will definitely stay here again whenever I am in San Diego.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Elisa Santos , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sorrento Valley San Diego. We are happy to hear that our hotel suited your needs. We always aim to provide our guests with a memorable experience and we are happy to have achieved that with you. Again, thank you. We can't wait to have you here again on your next visit to San Diego.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fullerton, CA

Close to UCSD.

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Easy access to freeway. Clean facility. Nice complimentary breakfast. Nice size & clean room. Beds were very comfortable. Nice size pool for a dip. I would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Elisa Santos, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sorrento Valley San Diego. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay recent. I will ensure to pass along your praises to the team to inspire them more. We appreciate your promise to come back and stay with us again on your next trip to San Diego. Rest assured that we will do everything it takes to make us deserving of your loyalty. Again, thank you. Looking forward on your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Had a pleasant stay. Was close to the event we attended
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Elisa Santos , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sorrento Valley San Diego. We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Hopefully we will get to perfect the service the next time you stay with us. Again, thank you. Looking forward to your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sf bay area

Just fine

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Most everything about this hotel is great. Minor complaints that the pool is smallish and the nautilus style gym equipment is kind of clunky (semi broken).
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Elisa S., Hotel Management
Thank you for trusting Holiday Inn Express and Suites Sorrento Valley San Diego for your accommodation needs. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. Again, thank you. Hopefully we will get to perfect the service the next time you stay with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good breakfast.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Hotel is about 15- 20 minutes to all activities in San Diego. Very clean rooms, a comfortable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Elisa Santos, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review and trusting us with your accommodation needs and hopefully we will get to perfect the service the next time you stay with us. We look forward on your next visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty shower

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
I got to my room and I found a used soap on top of the tub , like someone just took a shower Very desapoitnet
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017
Thank you for you honest feedback. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We have shared your feedback with our staff to ensure that this was an isolated issue that is corrected moving forward. We hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to San Diego.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017
Dear Valued Guest; Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review for our hotel at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego/Sorrento Valley. We are looking forward to see you again. Sincerely, Elisa S. General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017
Dear Valued Guest; Thank you so much for giving us 5-Star Rating during your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Diego/Sorrento Valley. We hope to host you soon when you travel back to San Diego. Sincerely, Elisa S. General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017
Thank you for the great review and for giving the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sorrento Valley San Diego a perfect rating. We are very happy to hear that you had a great time during your stay with us. We are looking forward to serving you again.