Ratings based on 577 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

nice and quiet

Posted Jan 15, 2018
good hotel , nice staff and clean, quiet but far from center
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Elisa Santos - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us and for trusting us with your accommodation needs. Hopefully we will get to perfect the service the next time you stay with us. Looking forward on your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Stayed one night, front desk was really friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. Recommend staying again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2018 by Elisa Santos - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sorrento Valley San Diego and for giving us a perfect rating! We are very pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. I will pass along your feedback to the whole team to inspire them more. Again, thank you. We can't wait to have you here again on your next visit to San Diego!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Room smelled like septic gas

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Didn't notice it at first, but there was a spetic gas smell that built up during the night. Too tired to complain to staff, but how did this happen in a modern hotel? I covered the bathtub and sink with wet towels and that did the trick.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Elisa Santos - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear you had a less than pleasant stay. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your stay. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure that this was an isolated issue that is corrected moving forward. We hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to San Diego.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gilbert, AZ

Very average

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Clean and good bed.
Location: In a business district with few restaurants or shopping near by. Quiet area.
Nice king size bed but there were just two many little things that were a disappointment. No fan in bathroom so it steamed up badly. No hangers for towels. Had the old school A/C heater and fan was noisy. Turned on heat and terrible smell came from it...like it hadn’t been cleaned for ever. Breakfast was pretty bad. Everything tasted processed. Could not eat the self Made pancakes...were like glue and could not cut them. Fresh cinnamon rolls were good. Scrambled eggs and sausage were ok but too much like the egg beaters you get at Micky D’s. Staff was friendly and hotel was very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by E. Santos - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. Please know that you feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. Again, thank you. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to San Diego.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
You can hear every foot steps from upstairs and people chatting in the next room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. Again, thank you. Hopefully we will get to perfect the service the next time you stay with us.
5 out of 5
by Monica

Posted Oct 21, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017
Thank you so much for giving the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sorrento Valley San Diego a perfect rating. We are so happy to see the 5 bright stars you've given us. We look forward on your next visit.
4 out of 5
by Dale

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us. We hope to provide you the perfect service the next time you stay with us. Again, thank you. Looking forward on your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancaster, ca

Nice hotel, decent price

Posted Oct 15, 2017
I was looking for a hotel that was near sea world that was clean, quiet, and at a reasonable price. I decided to stay here based on the reviews and i'm glad I did. The woman at the front desk was really nice and outgoing, she made my husband and I feel welcomed. The hotel was clean and the mattress was very comfortable. There is a chilis restaurant right outside the hotel with other restaurants near by. I will definitely stay here again whenever I am in San Diego.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Elisa Santos , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sorrento Valley San Diego. We are happy to hear that our hotel suited your needs. We always aim to provide our guests with a memorable experience and we are happy to have achieved that with you. Again, thank you. We can't wait to have you here again on your next visit to San Diego.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017
We are very happy to see the 5 bright stars you've given the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sorrento Valley San Diego. Thank you so much! Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fullerton, CA

Close to UCSD.

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Easy access to freeway. Clean facility. Nice complimentary breakfast. Nice size & clean room. Beds were very comfortable. Nice size pool for a dip. I would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Elisa Santos, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sorrento Valley San Diego. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay recent. I will ensure to pass along your praises to the team to inspire them more. We appreciate your promise to come back and stay with us again on your next trip to San Diego. Rest assured that we will do everything it takes to make us deserving of your loyalty. Again, thank you. Looking forward on your next visit.