Ratings based on 2,031 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st louis mo

Posted Jan 21, 2018
All staff I had contact with were super friendly and helpful, from front desk to environmental crew. Love staying at Hyatt hotels. San Diego Hyatt is a first rate hotel. Wish we could have stayed a little longer!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Pros: All
Cons: Rooms bland
Location: Awesome dining and near walks on the beach
Love vedthe time we had. Hotel very nice and friendly. Fires outside nice touch! We always come back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Room was clean StAff was very friendly and helpful and great location Will be staying there next time we go to San Diego
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Check in was quick and easy, the room is nice and clean. Good and drink are reasonably priced as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Interesting Experience

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Pros: Room size
Cons: cleaning, plumbing, and repair
Location: Whole food Market nearby. Torrey Pine Reserve hike.
We travel all over the world, and I don't usually leave a review, but after spending almost 2 weeks (13 nights to be precise)at hyatt Regency La Jolla, I would like to make an exception. The hotel itself is good, and have larger than average rooms, and it looks great from outside. The location isn't great, but will require a short drive to the nearest beach of La Jolla. The hotel has a great potential to be a good 4 star establishment, but the following issues in our opinion let it down: 1. The level of consistent good/thorough cleaning is a big let down. Daily cleaning is hit and miss. on occasions the rooms are completely forgotten and not cleaned at all, resulting in us calling the front desk reporting it. Not something you should worry about when on holiday. 2. Morning breakfast at Barcino is convenient to have, as there are not many restaurants available in the vicinity for breakfast, but it lacks variety and imagination. The waiting staff can either be great, or completely inattentive! 3. The hotel is in urgent need of some very minor, easily fixed general repairs. Pool side and hot tube have tiles missing, and feel neglected. Our bathroom toilet has been leaking for the entire duration of stay, and yet despite informing the house keeping staff, nothing was done, resulting in a very noisy bathroom sound the entire night. the safe inside the room was not working, but fixed on the 3rd day. It also worth mentioning that certain members of the staff, especially the concierg
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from westchester county

Rough start but nice hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2018
We liked the hotel but were not at all pleased with the check in. We arrived at 9pm and our room wasn’t ready! ;( Overall, everything else was ok. -Hotel Staff was so nice -Nothing was stolen -Very neat and clean, no bed bugs!!! -accommodating late check out!! I would recommend but to proceed with patience
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fremont, CA

Nice hotel at a reasonable price

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: It's near a major shopping mall, La Jolla, UCSD, and San Diego.
Hotel is nice, room is clean, beds are comfortable, but there were issues: We got a room (1409) next to the elevators, they sound like a roller coaster going through the building. If you are a light sleeper, this will be a big problem. Parking is $30 dollar per night, should be cheaper as it's in a suburb location, not downtown. I parked on the street to save the cost. Loading and unloading in the front is chaotic, one of the valet driver got annoyed with where I parked my car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Jolla, CA

La Jolla Hyatt...Like My Private Club

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: Friendly, inviting, courteous staff set the tone. Wifi was good throughout. Thermostat worked well in rooms. Clean rooms and property.
Cons: In-room safes in two different rooms had to be serviced...should be regular maintenance. -Overnight parking rate a bit steep (>$30/nite)
Location: Hotel is located in UTC area of San Diego, close to UCSD. UTC mall (huge), 1 mile away. Closer by are restaurants, grocery and movies and more.
Ended up staying here for almost 2 weeks as I was looking for a new place to live in San Diego. Kept extending my stay a few days at a time. One of the things I liked most about the property was that I could leave a window open most of the time and it was relatively quiet. No freeway noise from where I was staying, because hotel is not really next to I-5. The front desk staff were courteous, friendly and very helpful...and that applies to everyone that I interacted with over my stay: Gil, Jazmine, Kathy and others. Housekeeping was also exceptionally friendly and good. Forgot to fill the coffee one day, so I called in the a.m. and w/in 5 mins coffee for the machine arrived at my door. The property has an outdoor, olympic sized pool and a jacuzzi. When I went in the early evenings it was like having my own private club, as 80% of the time I was the only one using the facility. Of course, this was Dec - Jan, but the pool is heated and it really was not that cold outdoors. The pool has 3 lap lanes and a shallow area for kids and/or families. I saw a ping pong table, Foosball and lit fire pits. Workout room was okay, but good for a hotel workout room. Dumbbells, weight machines, ellipticals, treadmills, kettle balls and I think a recumbent bike or two. All in all, I really enjoyed my stay. Kinda like a mini-vacation and even though I live in San Diego. Kudos to management for setting the tone of creating a guest experience that was uniform throughout. - Jon
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kansas city

Bad experience

Posted Jan 7, 2018
When I arrived Hyatt tried to charge me $300 more then what I had reserved. They wouldn’t honor the breakfast that was advertised during the stay. The pillowcases were dirty twice. The staff wasn’t not present to work with. I most likely will never stay at a Hyatt again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from el centro

Perfect

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Great place to stay . Would highly recommend it to anyone.