Ratings based on 3,441 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Nice hotel and close to UCSD, downtown and beach

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Room is comfortable, clean and nice, but the staff at the front desk were not nice, the people I speaked to when I checked in were rude, and the person I speaked on the phone after I checked out for assistant were rude too by giving me attitude.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool hotel!

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Layout, room, pool area, little touches
Cons: The internet was very spotty. Drove me crazy and all I was trying to do was navigate one web page.
Location: Good location.
Huge room, good amenities, great layout. Pool area is great too. Place has a 60's vibe but is modern. One of my favourite hotels anywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sac

Not Fancy but not a dump - doable!

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Hotel is convenient but needs updating. Exterior is solid with amenities but definitely needs some love.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Tons of ppl drinking out front there rooms. And counters/tables weren't wiped down from previous person could see all sort of rings and stuff on counters. Would not recommend this place couple more bucks and you can get way nicer place next door
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Horrible misrepresentation. This is a motel.

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Cons: Rooms
We drove right into the hotel next door because we didn't believe such a hideous hotel would advertised to be so different on expedia.com. When we realized which hotel we had booked of course we were horrified but decided to give the room a chance since it looked decent in the pictures here. From the moment we drove into our parking area we felt uncomfortable since we saw two males doing some kind of substance in the parking lot. Then we were greeted by a huge spider outside our door, my sister is allergic to spiders, so of course she didn't want to get near the room. Then we open the door to see the oldest room ever, what happened to the rooms advertised online? Called the front desk to find out the rooms in the pictures are in the "executive wing" but yet are somehow the pictures shown to be the rooms being booked. All front desk could do was move us upstairs to the exact same rooms. The beds were horrible, and the room smelled like smoke yet it wasn't a smoking room. Front desk was quick to offer an "upgrade" to the executive room, the rooms in the pictures advertised, for $15 a night. Which was a "good deal" according to her. Why not just show pictures of the actual decades old rooms so guests don't feel the rooms were misrepresented? I am not kidding when I say another family pulled up, got out, looked around and a gentleman said "Let's get out of here. Who cares were we go." Do not stay here if you want to feel safe and comfortable. We're so glad we left.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Reliable

Posted Oct 10, 2017
It’s good place considering the price, good to go to sleep and get ready for the day. Wouldn’t recommend it if you’re looking to spend all day on the hotel amenities.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2017
When I walked into the room, it just felt germ filled and dirty. The automatic lights were nice, but the reddish colour on the walls and the carpet that looks like it can hide a billion germs was not inviting. The bed sheet looks a bit crumpled so it felt like someone had slept in it before but the sheets weren't changed. I stayed because it was 1:30am and I was tired and needed to get some sleep. I would not come back to this place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Motel appearance

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Decent place but motelish in appearance. Clean rooms. Pool not visible from our room. Reasonable price for San Diego
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Close to beach and easy acces to frwy

Posted Oct 9, 2017
I had a very comfortable stay at this hotel. I didn't get to go to the pool area since I was only in town for the night but everything else exceeded my expectations. The surrounding area was nice with a lot of restaurants near by. I would definitely stay and recommend this hotel to my friends in family.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with bad bathroom

Posted Oct 8, 2017
I found too many hair on the bed and the bathroom looks bad than what they were showing on the Expedia.com