Ratings based on 2,814 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montréal QC

Nice hotel with swimming pool

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Location: Few restaurants nearby - Russian, African, Vietnamese, Pot Pie. Excellent Mexican - El Zarape Restaurant , 4642 Park Blvd, San Diego, CA 92116, USA.
Great stay. Just 1 recommendation for other travellers. Check where you room will be located! I asked for a quiet room. It was quiet on weekdays. However, on the weekends, my room was located just above the basement reception room. The disco music boom boom was so load that MY FLOOR WAS SHAKING & VIBRATING!! It stopped @ 11 PM. But don't plan to stay in your room on a Saturday or Sunday evening. Nice staff, pool, etc. etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good ambiance

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Nice hotel, more old school. Great staff. Nice pool but a little chilly. Good location. Make sure you visit Great Maple down the street for breakfast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2017
The wall are thin..literally "If walls can talk..."
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Irvine, Ca

Middle of the City

Posted Sep 30, 2017
I have stayed here for years off and on when Im in town for business, they did a remodel in the front but not in all the rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ventura, CA

Throwback to old Hollywood type days. Good place.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Parking is quite limited though you can pay to stay at the hotel parking lot. Good experience overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Loved staying in the bungalow!

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: I stay there whenever I'm in town for film festivals and screenings. It's comfortable and has a lot of old Hollywood charm. And the food is great!
Location: There are lots of restaurants nearby, and Balboa Park is filled with museums and the famous zoo. I go for the film festivals.
I have stayed at the Lafayette several times before, but this was the first time I stayed in one of the bungalows. It was a really enjoyable change from the norm. Two floors, two rooms, a full kitchen and breakfast nook. Plus a spacious living room for entertaining. I would book that room again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Great hotel with pool

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Staff was wonderful and was very helpful. They took care of situation without any hassle. They more than made up for it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WINNIPEG

COSY HOTEL WITH CHARACTER

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: MOST EVERYTHING
Cons: DOUBLE GLAZING TO ROOMS AT THE FRONT OF HOTEL MAIN ROAD CAN BE VERY NOISY
Location: MOST OF SAN DIEGO IS JUST A SHORT INEXPENSIVE UBER RIDE AWAY.
GREAT HOTEL WITH CHARACTER, FRIENDLY STAFF AND A GREAT RESTAURANT FOR BREAKFAST LUNCH AND DINNER.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Posted Aug 29, 2017
The room, service, restaurant and pool were pretty awesome. The bed was comfortable as well. We ordered room service one night and paid $80 for two salads and a meat and cheese plate. That was bothersome. The shower really had poor pressure and varied between piping hot water and freezing cold. It was difficult to shower. Other than those issues the hotel was really amazing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Not impressed.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: no fee for parking snacks at a much lesser price
Location: location was ok
At check in, we learn that parking is $12 per day! I am not happy with this news as the rooms was not inexpensive for the quality. Snacks, soooooo expensive. Overall, just not happy with our choice to stay there.