Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from zamboanga city

Service Oriented

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Great experience like no other and my stay was full of surprises and delights. Hope that they will scale to new and better heights of service.
4 out of 5
by Katerina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Fears

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
It's nice
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA.

Wouldn't stay here again

Posted Sep 12, 2014
I've completed two tours in Afghanistan and our tents were far better accommodations than the hotel Slovakia. Everything in our room was either broken or required repair. Our window was cracked all the way through and was a safety hazard to our family. The hotel has very loud music on Friday and Saturday nights in their club/restaurant that does not stop till 5am. If you are looking to get any rest, look elsewhere.
1 out of 5
by Velu from Wheaton, IL, USA

Disaster

Posted Sep 23, 2013
This hotel reception area was dark. Receptionist was rude. Hallway to the room was dark.Room was not maintained well. Shower was not working properly. Finally everything you can think of was bad. Wonder how this was rated 4 star.I will not not give even one star rating. Very glad to leave this place early in the morning.Holiday Inn was not available for that night.That is the reason we booked this hotel after reading about 4 star rating. What a mistake.
3 out of 5
by N/A

Old hotel,

Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels
Poor hotel...only location is good....thx
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doug & Suzi from Los Angeles

Large hotel in a small city

Posted Jun 13, 2012
Location: Next to a large shopping center and walking distance to center of old city.
Hotel was in a good location but pool was only open on Tuesday, why? Had good secure parking. The last night we were there the toilet started leaking and we had to turn off the water supply then on each time we used it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OMG- Don't go there!!!

Posted May 23, 2011 on Hotels
That's a hotel since the age of communism in Slovakia. The halls were looking like they were taken from the movie "The Shining"- wide, dark and with stains on the carpets. My bed sheets had holes which were sawed back. Nothing was new, modern or even working in this hotel!!! Do yourself a favor- spend a little more money and get a decent hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin, Ireland

Hotel Slovakia in Zilina.

Posted Oct 26, 2010 on Hotels
This hotel is very central however thats the only thing it has going for it. It is like a time warp to 1970's Soviet era. Terrible service, it took over 20 minutes to check in one person, while there were others waiting. The hotel was very dark and nothing seemed to work properly. The bed was very uncomfortable, the tv didnt work, the heating in the room wasnt great. A cheap hotel but no value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coventry, UK

Functional, ex-communist era throwback

Posted Oct 15, 2010
This would have been a very impressive hotel when it first opened, I suspect in the 1960s? I don't think too much has been done to it since then, but this does mean that it has some very impressive retro decor. The lights in the bar area upstairs are something of a classic and must be unique to this hotel. That is my positive way of looking at it - others may describe it as shabby, outdated and in desperate need of a major facelift. It suited our needs for a football trip. I wouldn't take my girlfriend though! Some of the 'twin' room have beds that can't be separated, which some of my travelling friends weren't best pleased about. The food in the restaurant was much better than I had expected. A decent enough menu at decent enough prices, but in cavernous surroundings.