Ratings based on 1,047 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Only stayed one night. Location was convenient as it was close to the train station and easy to get to the city. Breakfast buffet was good. Room was a bit too dark though, needs more (Or better) lights.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good Location, near buses and trains

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Location and the staff
Cons: Complete overhaul to make it a real boutique hotel.....redecorate and rearrange the superior double rooms. Better quality of food for breakfast
Location: Bus stop into town 2 minute walk, 20 minute walk into town. Train station 10 minute walk away...good local restaurants
An OK stay, but not a 4 star hotel and our room not a superior double as we were led to believe. Room dark and decor garish and old fashioned, wall paper scuffed,, cheap furniture, wardrobe blocking part of window, no full length mirror, two single beds pushed together to make the double bed. Bathroom obviously recently converted to accommodate disabled guests as holes in the wall for second shower had not been filled, bulky hand rails and raised toilet and over large wash basin made the bathroom feel institutional. The whole hotel felt cluttered and although claims to be a boutique hotel...seriously needs advice on what a boutique hotel is...there is so much clutter everywher, the breakfast/dining area is extremely cluttered with hundreds of chicken ornaments and paraphernalia. Wallpaper on 2nd floor where we were staying was just awful...3 unmatching designs has to be seen to be believed. This hotel is not a 4 star hotel and we were disappointed with both the hotel and our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Cute hotel in a great location. Staff friendly and breakfast good. Single room a bit dark and small but had everything I needef
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario ,Canada

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: It was in our budget but had the feel of a much more expensive hotel.
Cons: Nothing really, being a very old building the plumbing was a little noisy but not too bad and something silly but the clothes hangers kept falling off
Location: Wonderful location, nice safe area within 10 minute walk to train station and very close to main shopping street of Bologna and the historic district.
Beautiful historic buildings, close to train station but in a nice safe area, nice walk to main attractions and shopping. Fabulous breakfast buffet, very attentive staff, hot and cold dishes were fresh and very delicious.
5 out of 5
by Patrick

Good visit.

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
Good location near railway station which we wanted. Very near main thoroughfare. Quiet and peaceful. Staff very nice and helpful. Airport bus stop at railway station too , so very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Hotel Il Guercino - Bologna

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Public areas - lobby, restaurant. Cleanliness. Breakfast was delicious. The hotel has character.
Cons: Rooms sound insulation. Rooms furniture. Rooms could be better equipped for a 4-star place. Poor Internet speed.
Location: 10-15 min walk from the train station 20-25 min walk from Bologna centre.
We had a pleasant stay at this hotel. Good location, pleasant staff, clean. Breakfast was good. 4-star hotel. Public areas like lobby, restaurant, reception were very pleasant and with some character. The rooms are not at the same level. I would rate them at 2.5 - 3 star level for size, furniture quality and amenities. Paper thin walls, non-existant sound insulation (but that's common almost everywhere in Europe) Poor internet (wi-fi) speed. (common for hotels in Italy) A/C was good (important for summers in Bologna). Overall: Good for the money, decent, quiet location. At that price: recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Wonderful boutique hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2017
This is a really fabulous small hotel with characterful rooms, friendly staff and one of the nicest breakfast buffets I have experienced. Great location for trains and a reasonable walk into the centre. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Excellent Hotel and Close to the Train Station

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Comfort, breakfast, friendliness, location
Location: 10 minutes walk to central train station, from where there are regular trains to Ferrara, Modena, Ravenna, Parma etc. 15 minutes walk to city centre.
Excellent hotel. Clean, comfortable and spacious room. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Excellent breakfast. 10 minutes walk to the central train station and 15 minutes to the city centre. Very good value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dera Mark, we thank you very much for your review! It's very important for us and very good hints for all guests want to stay in our hotel! Thank you once more and see you soon! Do not hesitate to contact us. Best regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: it was just Lovely, small but lovely.
Cons: car park, and a restaurant.
Location: location not near to anything like a nice restaurant had to walk about 15 minutes.
Lovely reception staff, very welcoming. Room was very nice, and clean. Lovely breakfast room. Had a wonderful stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your time writing this comment and all staff thankd you as well for your words! Hope to accommodate youo in future once more! Regards
4 out of 5
by Gary

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017
Dear Gary, thanks for time dedicated to us! See you soon in Bologna! Regards