Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Big room walkable to downtown

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Nice hotel, large rooms, walkable. Nice bar area inside and outside. Big breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good stay let down by the noise pollution

Posted Oct 13, 2017 on Hotels
A nice break for a few days in a good hotel let down by a couple of things Our room was directly above the gym and the noise pollution from the bass of the music, was just too overbearing. I appreciate there was supposed to be a time limit for use of the gym.....however, one night after retiring to bed, I had to get up at 22.20 and go down and switch the music off, much to the dismay of the individual using the gym. The following night, I had to contact the reception and ask them to attend the matter.....which they did. One afternoon we returned early to the hotel to enable a visit to the spa and my wife attempted to have a little siesta, but this was impossible due to noise from the gym. The hotel is in a great an relatively quiet location in Bologna, but only a short walk will give you quick and level access to the centre. The quality and furnishings throughout the hotel were excellent. The public areas were all kept and maintained to a high level of cleanliness which enhanced the atmosphere and ambience. I noticed previous comments in regards to payment and/or cost of the spa, I however was more than happy to pay this fee of €30.00, especially as I was the only one using it........perfect for a relaxing 90 minutes. I would like to commend the staff on their professionalism and assistance, nothing seemed too much of a bother when information or guidance was required. I would return to The Royal Carlton again if visiting Bologna.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Stunning Hotel, great location and services.

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Literally everything! Staff, location, services, food, rooms, comfort, style. The staff were always professional and helpful.
Cons: Nothing, it was excellent.
Location: 10 min walk to the centre. Markets nearby, shops, towers, churches are all walkable. Train station is nearby so very easily accessible for day trips!
This was my favourite hotel on my recent trip. I stayed in Bologna for 5 nights and enjoyed every moment of my stay especially because of this hotel. It's elegant, clean, beautiful with highly attentive staff and has a luxurious Clarins Spa with massage, spa and treatment services to indulge in. One day was raining whilst I stayed in Bologna and I was actually really excited and very content to stay in for one of the 5 evenings!
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Good large hotel with business level quality.

Posted Sep 28, 2017 on Hotels
Quiet location large hotel with business users. Good size room and bathroom all nicely cleaned and quality bed. Good wifi but could only find sky news in English on tv (quick channel guide to English channels would have been useful). Easy to find, max 10 mins from station and an easy 15 mins from town centre. I enjoyed the walk back for the benefit of quietness. Buffet breakfast good choice and freshly made to order cappuccino. Airport bus (2nd stop on my journey, i.e. before station stop) was only 3 mins walk to hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to the rail station

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Staff very friendly and helpful, room clean and comfortable, great breakfast with fantastic choice, 5 min walk to rail station and yet only 10 min walk to the centre of Bologna.
5 out of 5
by jorge

Highly recommend

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
Good value, clean, great breakfast, friendly staff, good location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

No nonsens hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: It is ok as it is.
Location: See above
No nonsense hotel where everything is functioning well. Large underground parking. Efficient reception. Active concierge. Fast elevators. Comfortable room. Good wifi. Good large bed. No noisy air conditioning. Complete bathroom. Good included breakfast and good and friendly service. Taxi's quickly available but hotel is in walking distance of center, located in a quiet area. Reasonably priced. Will definitely book this practical and comfortable hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New, York, NY

Great hotel for local exploration and travel

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Clean facilities and excellent breakfast.
Cons: Valet services could be improved.
Location: The hotel is centrally located for conferences, local travel and transportation.. There are many restaurants in vicinity of the hotel.a.
The location is s ideal tourism and conferences. I had a wonderful stay at the hotel while I was participating at an international conference.
4 out of 5
by Joy

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel, But not nice food at the hotel restaurant. I enjoyed my stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An oasis in Bologna

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Great hotel; fully functional gym. Nice breakfast.