Ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK for families looking for the basics...

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: I loved that there was coffee available 24 hours a day, seven days a week!
Cons: The facilities, including the pool, hot-tub, basement game room, etc. needed repairs.
Clean rooms with nice staff, but outdated facilities. Looked like they were renovating. so various rooms were in progress. My kids loved access to the outdoor pool and there was a nice, basic workout facility available with treadmill, elliptical, etc. Several facilities (e.g., dining/restaurant) were only available to the conference attendees, so that was disappointing, although again, this didn't matter to my kids. They had a great time... Most of the days we travelled about one hour in either direction to go to various tourist attractions. It is a beautiful state and we enjoyed our time in Vermont!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dover NH

Ok hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Friendly staff Place needs work No extra pillows or blankets
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old Vermont hotel which needs updating

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: food, atmosphere, price
Location: Killington / Mendon, Vermont
The staff at the reception were quite befuddled while checking in guests. It took them a long time to check in 2 guests, but when they finally did, they gave us a key with the wrong room number on it. The rooms looked ok, but felt stale. The carpets were old seventies brown, which didn't encourage us to spend any time in the room. Breakfast was included, but was self-serve down in the basement, and consisted of packaged cereal, yogurt, wonderbread. There was waffle mix but no one to help make the waffles. There could have been a staff member there to make omelettes, but guests served themselves the packaged fare. I have had better food and nicer atmosphere at the Comfort Inn. This hotel was supposed to be a grand hotel (maybe once upon a time), but really a very disappointing place. It was grandly overpriced as well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient location

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness of the entire hotel.
Cons: The continental breakfast was ok but could use a little bit more variety.
Location: Lots of hiking trails, several golf courses. Many other things to do within a 40-45 min drive ( day trips)
Was there for a few days of golf. Location was central to the courses. Room was clean, bed comfortable and overall a very nice place. They were renovating the pool area and some of the rooms at the other end from where we were.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mass

hotel ok ,needs work

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Hotel was old ,inside pool had no roof , pool and spa was dirty Carpet smelled as you entered help desk , hotel lobby was hot. Seemed like no AC. Room AC ok. bed was comfortable, balcony outside room loose ,leaning out. Scary to lean on.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Pleasant staff, in a disappointing building.

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: The staff was friendly and responsive. The hotel was kept clean. The breakfast offered was fresh and well stocked for the whole time it was available.
Cons: The overall condition of the building was cluttered and worn. We could see lots of junk from our deck. The hotel needs a freshening up.
Location: Hiking was excellent, in beautiful Green Mountains. Some nice restaurants close by.
We got an excellent internet rate for three nights right in the area we wished to be. When we arrived were greeted and checked into our room by a very pleasant front desk person. The room and building was a disappointment because of the outdated and very worn condition of the facilities. Our room was very dark and had a strange layout. The bed itself was a large log affair, the foot board logs completely blocked the view of the TV, it was however very comfortable. The bathroom had a very large soaker tub with the shower in the tub. The sides of the tub were so high it was very difficult for my wife to get into and out of without my assistance. Not a very safe set up for those of us on the older side. The breakfast room was in the lowest level of the hotel and also dark. The breakfast food was all fresh and a good selection was offered and kept well stocked and clean by the staff. We used the pool and hot tub and found the area cluttered with pool equipment and some electrical wiring that was just tacked to the wall not in conduit very unusual in a outdoor water environment. The boards on our deck were curling up and in very poor repair. The room and public areas of the hotel were kept very clean. The cleanliness of the room and surrounding areas is what made us stay instead of moving on, along with the low rate we had for the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LI NY

Nice place to stay.

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Location: Close to the road, you could hear some traffic at night.
The hotel is not new but well maintained. The staff is pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, Ontario

Great place for a quiet getaway.

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: Ambience
Very comfortable hotel. It was very quiet during our stay, second week of June. The staff were very friendly. The lounge is nice, and the breakfast was good. The only complaint is that the indoor pool no longer had a roof! Other travellers should be aware that there are no nearby restaurants, and it is a ten to 15 minute drive down the mountain to Rutland, where there is lots of choice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Creepy old hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2016
The hotel interior is quite old and needs some updating. Not sure I would call this a three-star hotel due to lots of deferred maintenance and dated decor. They also charge $20 per child over the age of 12, which was a bit of a surprise.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great Hotel for reasonable Price

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Pros: Hot Cookies, friendly staff Pet Friendly, Clean Clean Clean, Comfortable beds Bartender carded me made me feel young
Cons: More food options within hotel. Food is limited
Location: Location is great very accessible
The Cortina is a real gem, upon check in there where warm cookies and the front desk staff was informative we where a little upset the pool was closed but the front desk staff explained it was due to a safety hazard and that they where looking after us. The beds are super comfortable and room was very clean we where happy to find out that this hotel is very pet friendly (very hard to find) there are no breed restrictions or size restrictions so we will be back with our dog in the summer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Jennifer for the kind review hope to see you again