Ratings based on 731 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Fernanda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, decent breakfast, clean room, friendly & efficient staff.
Cons: The mattress on the bed was a bit too soft for my taste
Location: All the main attractions of Porto are within walking distance.
The ground floor of this hotel is indeed grand, but the bedrooms are average - to be fair, this is reflected in the price. It's located on a main shopping street, not much more than 100 yards from the Metro station, so the journey from the airport is relatively easy. Porto is one of the best cities I've ever visited for a short break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

Great location in Porto

Posted Aug 2, 2017
The Grand Hotel is right in the heart of the Porto shopping district and provides walkable access to many sites. It is a quick walk from the metro station from the airport. It is a grand old hotel, keeping the older traditions in the lobbies and dining areas. Staff: everyone was so friendly and accommodating! We were always greeted by front desk staff Room: the room was fairly large, as was the bathroom. There was a fridge and plenty of storage. The beds were comfortable, but the pillows were miserable and hard. The water in the shower was a challenge and even somewhat dangerous as it would get boiling hot then very cold repeatedly through the shower. When the windows were open, it was noisy, though silent when they were closed. There was some renovation going on that was also loud at times. The morning breakfast was great!
2 out of 5
by Lea

Disapointment

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
The lobby and the restaurant are really decorated looking like something from 'Grand Budapest Hotel'. However, the room was REALLY small (I do however think that we bought the cheapest room). There was no wifi in the room, the temperature in the shower was constantly changing from hot to cold, and one morning there was no running water at all. The hotel is nicely located but not worth the money.
5 out of 5
by Diana

Great central Hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful old hotel in the centre of Porto. Central to everything, in the main shopping street, loads of restaurants around and close to transport, Se Cathedral and the hop on hop off buses.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Skip it

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
Great neighborhood in a great city. The hotel bar and common areas are pretty in a Grand-Budapest-Hotel kind of way. Breakfast is good. Our room was small and old. The carpet is worn. The keys didn't work when we checked in. There was no one terrible thing, but a collection of small things that added up to a less than stellar stay. For the price we were paying, we could have done a lot better at a newer hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
Old hotel but is very beautiful. The hotel needs some upgrades. Location is excellent and although it is on a commercial street, the room was very quiet. We loved it.
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

Good location

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
The location was very good - within a reasonably easy walk of the Station, Catherdral, Torre de Clerigos, Majestic Cafe and bus stops for the hop-on, hop-off bus. The hotel is very atmospheric with a lovely dining room, lounge and bar with appropriate music playing. However, the rooms are very small for the price charged. The bathroom is well appointed although the pressure in the shower is feeble! The roof terrace is a welcome outdoor space where you can spot lots of spires and domes across the rooftops.
4 out of 5
by curt

Pleasant stay in Porto

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
A grand hotel that is a little tired. Still it's a good value, location is great and the staff helpful. Nice dining room and breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Location and early 20th century charming decor
Cons: The BED!
The best thing about this hotel is the location - great access to all the sites in Porto within walking distance. Restaurants, cafes, shopping and public transportation all in near vicinity. The hotel has tons of charm and retains much of its original detail from when it was built. Our first impression was really positive, plus they upgraded us to a suite named after a famous Portuguese cellist, so we had much more room than we expected. Our room was beautifully decorated although the carpet was a dingy, stained and worn. Where we experienced a major negative issue was that the aged floor was sloped causing the bed to be substantially tilted and we therefore had huge difficulty sleeping. One of us had to wedge his feet into the bed board so that he wouldn't roll out of the bed! So, while we loved the decor, charm and spaciousness of our room, not being able to sleep properly is a bit of a deal breaker. We revived our spirits with the lovely breakfast, but we are sad to say we can't recommend this hotel because we couldn't sleep!