Ratings based on 702 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Great Hotel in a good location

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Location. Ornate. Clean. Quiet
Location: Good shopping, near Market, easy to find a restaurant
The hotel is in a very good location with very good staff. Really nice dining room with above average breakfast. If you don't like modern bland hotels then this will be the hotel for you, the ground floor is especially nice. The bedroom was large and comfortable also very quiet. The best compliment i can give it is if we went back to Porto this would be the place we would stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON.

Grand Hotel - not so grand

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: Maintenance, paint job, flooring, and general upgrades.
Location: Downtown on the main pedestrian shopping street - good foot access to all of Porto.
Unfortunately this hotel has seen better days - in a bad need of a renovation! However, a great location with access to a parking garage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, decent breakfast, clean room, friendly & efficient staff.
Cons: The mattress on the bed was a bit too soft for my taste
Location: All the main attractions of Porto are within walking distance.
The ground floor of this hotel is indeed grand, but the bedrooms are average - to be fair, this is reflected in the price. It's located on a main shopping street, not much more than 100 yards from the Metro station, so the journey from the airport is relatively easy. Porto is one of the best cities I've ever visited for a short break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

Great location in Porto

Posted Aug 2, 2017
The Grand Hotel is right in the heart of the Porto shopping district and provides walkable access to many sites. It is a quick walk from the metro station from the airport. It is a grand old hotel, keeping the older traditions in the lobbies and dining areas. Staff: everyone was so friendly and accommodating! We were always greeted by front desk staff Room: the room was fairly large, as was the bathroom. There was a fridge and plenty of storage. The beds were comfortable, but the pillows were miserable and hard. The water in the shower was a challenge and even somewhat dangerous as it would get boiling hot then very cold repeatedly through the shower. When the windows were open, it was noisy, though silent when they were closed. There was some renovation going on that was also loud at times. The morning breakfast was great!
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

Good location

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
The location was very good - within a reasonably easy walk of the Station, Catherdral, Torre de Clerigos, Majestic Cafe and bus stops for the hop-on, hop-off bus. The hotel is very atmospheric with a lovely dining room, lounge and bar with appropriate music playing. However, the rooms are very small for the price charged. The bathroom is well appointed although the pressure in the shower is feeble! The roof terrace is a welcome outdoor space where you can spot lots of spires and domes across the rooftops.
4 out of 5
by curt

Pleasant stay in Porto

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
A grand hotel that is a little tired. Still it's a good value, location is great and the staff helpful. Nice dining room and breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Location and early 20th century charming decor
Cons: The BED!
The best thing about this hotel is the location - great access to all the sites in Porto within walking distance. Restaurants, cafes, shopping and public transportation all in near vicinity. The hotel has tons of charm and retains much of its original detail from when it was built. Our first impression was really positive, plus they upgraded us to a suite named after a famous Portuguese cellist, so we had much more room than we expected. Our room was beautifully decorated although the carpet was a dingy, stained and worn. Where we experienced a major negative issue was that the aged floor was sloped causing the bed to be substantially tilted and we therefore had huge difficulty sleeping. One of us had to wedge his feet into the bed board so that he wouldn't roll out of the bed! So, while we loved the decor, charm and spaciousness of our room, not being able to sleep properly is a bit of a deal breaker. We revived our spirits with the lovely breakfast, but we are sad to say we can't recommend this hotel because we couldn't sleep!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everyone was helpful.

Posted May 24, 2017
Some of the other people in our group had extremely small bedrooms. Ours was fine. The hotel was very crowded. Breakfast fairly good.
3 out of 5
by john

Leave the car elsewhere!

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Think carefully before driving to this place! It's not easy to find, the "drive to" address isn't the one listed and you need to cross busy pedestrian areas (I was sure I was committing an offence, but the local cops OK'd it) Once you've found the place, drop your luggage then more heavy traffic to the public car park the hotel has a deal with (15 minutes walk). Get the picture? Hotel itself is in good location, communal areas reflect the splendour of a bygone age (If you like that sort of early 20th century stuff..I do) rooms clean but relatively small. No view from mine (except a graffitied wall).
5 out of 5
by Keith

Good location

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
A grand old lady, a good stay. A extra chair in the room, one for each person. Breakfast was excellent, a very well maintained buffet.