Ratings based on 828 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC Canada

Posted Jun 12, 2018
Right in the centre of shopping street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

Grande hotel close to city attractions

Posted May 31, 2018
Beautifully maintained Victorian hotel centrally located in old Porto so we enjoyed its historical aspects. Centrally located and very convenient to walk to most attractions and mere minutes to the tram and bus if you want travel to places like Serralves cultural park which is well worth a visit. Situated on limited vehicle street - Santa Catarina where people walk and shop.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Middle of everything

Posted May 27, 2018
Great Hotel With a very friendly staff and great location
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2018
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2018
When we checked in we were taking down to a sub level floor that was under construction. The room looked like a dorm room, there was an absolute disconnect between this and the grand lobby and restaurant. As we were then showed another room, it was the same if not worse as you had to climb stairs to access the bed in the loft. As we are not elderly or the faint of heart, it would be manageable; however, the majority of the guests were at an average age of 80 which would be an accident waiting to happen. I had to patch up one of the guests as she tripped over a small lip just entering the hotel. There was an absolute indifference by the hotel manager and staff that this individual was injured. No one came over to check on her as she sustained quite a gash over her eyebrow and a good deal of bruising. Due to my insistance, we were showed another room. We were then upgraded to a suite. This was very nice; but, dated. The only bad thing was there was only 1 available. Our friends were placed alongside us. It was twin beds. The staff did quickly try to accommodate and put the beds together and placed a topper on the bed. The location is great. I just don’t understand why they want to refurbish the rooms to “IKEA dorm room”.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Porto center

Posted May 7, 2018
Well located, very helpful staff, easy on the budget
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

A Grande hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2018
Excellent facilities all round, great location too, well worth the money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

Truly a grand hotel!

Posted Apr 9, 2018
Pros: The location and timeless grandeur
Cons: The hotel should not carry out renovation when there are guests staying
Location: There are many sights, shops and restaurants in easy reach
This hotel is located in a central position in Porto and easy to access from the airport. It is sumptuous inside and the rooms which have been renovated are very comfortable with the bed on a mezzanine level. The only problem we had was that in the room above us there was renovation work in progress and we were woken at 8am by loud drilling and building noise. The staff, always helpful and friendly, offered us a different room and this one was very quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from france

Beautiful place where past and present coexist

Posted Apr 8, 2018
Very beautiful hotel from the past, very well being renewed with great materials , located in the middle of the living Rua Santa Catarina, close to Bolhao metro station and to Sao Bento rail station. Breakfast is correct but not great, and we would expect a possibility to make a warm drink in the room ...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Mixed

Posted Apr 7, 2018
Pros: Location Some staff super helpful
Cons: Breakfast
Location: no dearth of things to do In the heart of town
Staff was variable ranging from surly to very helpful Breakfast was the worst I had in 10 days in Portugal , but that is because the others were great and this one just passing. Room was very clean, Nice bar/common areas made for a nice stay Location good if you want to be i the heart of things Overall I would give 3.5 stars if I could