Ratings based on 451 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Central Location

Posted Mar 26, 2018
Pros: Location, cleanliness, room size / design.
Cons: More English speaking TV channels.
Location: Malaga food market directly opposite, the port and beach area.
We booked this hotel for a short three night stay in March primarily because of short notice availability, its location and competitive price. My wife has stayed here previously and had enjoyed it although she thought the rooms a little small. On check-in (normally 1500, however we were given our room at 1300) we were offered the option at 10 euros extra per night to upgrade to a larger newly refurbished room which we accepted. This was a great choice as the room was outstanding; really smart minimalistic style with lots of room, modern large bathroom and immaculately clean. A minibar, tea & coffee facilities and complimentary toiletries were also included. We didn't opt for breakfast on this occasion but the dining area looked smart and food on display when walking through could not be faulted. The only slight improvement I would recommend is a few English speaking TV channels or the option with the remote control to change the language (only Bloomberg and CNBC business English speaking channels were available). We would certainly consider a short break here again and thoroughly recommend the superior room upgrade.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool

In the centre of Malaga

Posted Mar 9, 2018
Cons: Breakfast hate the self service buffet
Stayed one night , great location close to everything, not the best breakfast I’ve ever had but would stay here again, oh the parking is a nightmare had to park in the multi-storey and cost 23 euros for the night!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very nice hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2018
Pros: Clean, efficiency of the staff, situation.
Cons: Breakfast is a little pricy but excellent.
Location: Visit the Cathedral, the Roman forum beautiful street walk nice restaurants museums all around, the fort is interresting. CLose to train and easy trav
The rates are reasonable considering what we got. The service was excellent
2 out of 5
by Emilie

A series of unfortunate events

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel could have been good. We stayed there one night, and the hotel location was easily accessible from the airport and the bus station. It was also lovely to explore the market right next door, the best thing to do in Malaga in my opinion. The room was clean and staff friendly. Unfortunately two things went wrong. First, there was some building work right next to the bedroom we stayed in, with loud banging that woke us up in the morning. We'd heard the noise when we got there the day before so enquired at reception to make sure it wouldn't be an inconvenience in the morning. They assured us there would be no noise in the morning and that wasn't true. Second, there was no cold water in the entire hotel when we woke up - which meant no shower (unless you like it boiling), no coffee with our breakfast (I think the staff could have found another way to make coffee) and no drinking water (again, staff could have automatically distributed bottles of water to everyone). The combination of these two incidents made us glad we were not staying longer. It was probably unfortunate, but it would be hard to recommend this place after our experience. Also if you decide to stay there, I'd recommend to have breakfast in one of the cafes on the same street, the hotel breakfast was average.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old Malaga Town hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Hotels
Had a great night,in a brand new bed too! It's ideally located in the old town,would definitely stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good value

Posted Jan 17, 2017
clean,comfortable hotel,good location, would stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good location

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: near buses, shopping area, and train.
Cons: none
Location: Great! Location near Public Market.
Staff very pleasant and attentive. Did a lot of walking and hotel is centrally located which made is easy to travel around the city.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
Centrally located near the market and within easy walking distance of the train station from the airport. Good value for money. Good wifi.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice clean and centrally located Hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Great location at the heart of everything only 5 minutes walk from the main train station which will get you to and from the Airport in less than 15 minutes. Market across the road great to browse around and eat in apparently although we never tried to eat there ourselves. Streets full of life and plenty of great little bars and restaurants to chose from well worth exploring for two or three days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leeds

Comfortable, good value hotel.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Good value and we'll located.
Cons: The quality of the coffee.
This was my second stay in Atarazanas, I last stayed about 3 years ago. The staff are very professional. Beds are the standard 2 singles pushed together, but very comfortable. The bathroom had a large walk in shower and was a good size, but the toilet was wedged behind the door, which could prove difficult if you have mobility problems. Last time we had stayed in a first floor room and found it quite noisy due to the number of scooters in the road behind the hotel, this time we were on the top floor and it was much quieter. We had breakfast on one morning, standard fare for Spain, but the coffee is from a machine and of poor quality, the milk in the machine is sweetened! The hotel is well situated just a 5 minute walk from the Alameda station and opposite the fabulous Atarazanas Market. 10 min walk from Constitution Square. There is a supermarket right next door and a fridge in the room.