Ratings based on 524 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Andrea R.

Wonderful views!

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful view from our 19th floor! Excellent breakfast. Rustic 70' s charm. Comfortable beds. Great location for walking. Safe area!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burnaby

awesome view

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: The view was great. Close to Palacio das Artes
Cons: bathtub maintenance.
Location: BH downtown is not beautiful. Lots of poverty there. But there're great restaurants around and a beautiful park in front of this hotel.
First I was really impressed with Expedia. My previous hotel was under maintenance and they call me to find another place for me with no charge. I was really surprised! The hotel was great! I was on 17th floor and the view was awesome!! Really nice place to work with a big table, nice bed, amazing restaurant on the top floor with a great pool. Friendly Staff and amazing food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Vintage hotel done right!

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: 1. Large spacious clean rooms. 2. Friendly, helpful, and professional staff
Cons: Breakfast was a little bit chaotic because the hotel was booked full. Food selection could use a little improvement.
Location: 1. Easy to get a taxi 2. The hotel is located in front of the Municipal Park. On Sunday's there is a large street fair known as "Hippy Fair".
We enjoyed the large spacious rooms and the friendly and professional staff. The hotel dates back to the 1970's but it is still of very good quality. Breakfast was okay, and it could use a little improvement. Overall the Belo Horizonte Othon Palace is good value for money! This was our second stay at this hotel and we will definitely come back again.
4 out of 5
by Forrest

Othon Palace Stay

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
The only negative we can think of was that it was a little noisy outside of the hotel. The service was outstanding. The breakfast couldn't have been better! The rooms are carpeted and could use a little tender loving care. Overall, a great deal for the price!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Great Hotel in Belo Horizonte

Posted May 23, 2017
Had a great time. My only disappointment was a request to add a new bed to my 4 yo nephew and nobody gave attention.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Very expensive for a weekend in the city.

Posted May 14, 2017
Restaurant very expensive. Feijoada on saturday very good....................................A very expensive Daily for a weekend in the city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Downtown location near parks and museums.
Cons: Up to date photos of rooms to show how old they really are. Rooms could use updating.
Overall an okay experience. Breakfast buffet was sub par, hotel restaurant not very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Very Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: The mountain views are stunning. The roof top bar is great and reasonably priced. I didn't use the pool but it looked very clean. Good Wifi.
Cons: The bathrooms could be updated, they were very clean and worked very well but were just old and needed to be updated. Furniture wasn't comfortable.
Location: The location is primo, right across from the park, centrally located to restaurants, shops, museums, etc.
The room was dated but historically interesting, clean and very big. The public spaces of the hotel were very nice and breakfast was typical of Brazilian offerings but done very well. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Carnaval parades go right in front of the hotel and it's an easy walk to the blocos near and under the viaduto.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and friendly staff

Posted Feb 20, 2017
My stay was great. Staff were very helpful and friendly. I couldn't have been in a better location with great views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, fl

Hotel with great view of the city

Posted Jan 5, 2017
This is my favorite hotel to stay in Belo Horizonte. They have a nice pool with a bar and restaurant on the top floor. Everybody who works there is super polite. They have an excellent breakfast and the WIFI works great. The bathrooms are a bit out dated, but I don't travel to look at bathrooms. I highly recommend this hotel.