Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel... in the heart of chueca, always clean

Posted Jul 4, 2017
The lady of take care everything... her name is ROCIO... she is so helpful, welcome and so patience.... i love it.. definately i will comeback to the same place..... awww Madrid.... aww hostel Castilla... so wonderful.
3 out of 5
by Jo from Malaysia

satisfy

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
satisfy and happy
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Good clean hostel in nice area of Madrid, close to downtown but not right in the centre so a bit quieter and felt safer than malasana or gran via
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

5 Nights in Madrid

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
Spent 5 nights in Hostel Castilla, a neat place with sink in the double single bed room. Room was tidied every morning which makes a welcoming environment on the return. Overall, a good place for overnights at a decent price.
3 out of 5
by Cathy from Canada

Budget dtay

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
Non smoking room, but still smell smoke.
3 out of 5
by Cathy from Vancouver, Canada

Budget control to discover Madrid

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
Except good convenient location and cheapest price,I don't think any reason to choose this hostal. The owner lady is very very nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 7, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by John from Milton, MA

Home Base in Madrid

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels
Myself and a friend were in Madrid for an event. We weren't planning to spend a lot of time in a hotel. This is a hostel. Just a place to sleep or rest. It had everything that we needed: a place to sleep, close to the subway and some places to get breakfast or a snack. We had to share the bathroom but this wasn't a problem. The staff was very solicitous of our needs. Bed was good. There was WiFi and a TV in our room(which we didn't use). The neighborhood was very ordinary and the wooden stairs looked to be 100 yrs old and well worn. Need to climb 3 flights of stairs to get to the hostel. Not a place if you're looking for creature comforts but for the price it was a good deal if you just need a place to camp out, wash and sleep and it was fairly close to the center.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from London

Excellent place to stay in Chueca

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Really pleased with this hostal. It's a good location in Chueca, and I liked the dated charm of the place. Very clean, and the woman who runs it is very attentive. The room was comfortable enough...I had a double bed to myself but I might just have been lucky there. If you want to be in a quiet part of Chueca you could definitely do much worse than this place.