Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, Ohio

Poor services

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Hotel good central location with nice breakfast buffet. However, some staff issues and Catalonia Hotel policy problems. Minor issue to get a broken glass swept off floor of room. Due to taxi strike in Spain, we were likely to miss flight. Jose Luis at desk said not a problem. Call at midnight from desk told us we would have to walk to catch a bus at 4 in morning. In dark with suitcases. No contingency plans by hotel for a situation. It was our problem. Terrible customer service. Don't use Catalonia hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, canada

Great location, staff was super friendly, helpful.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
I would stay at this hotel again! Great room! (507) spacious, overlooking courtyard, quiet. Bathroom , rainshower was great after long hot day! Breakfast (not included) was yummy! Croissants were a must!! Close to everything and supermarket nearby if you need water, snacks etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Modern Hotel, Comfy Bed, Centrally Located

Posted Jun 8, 2017
The staff at the Catalonia Plaza Mayor hotel were really great. The first night we arrived (close to midnight) there was an issue with the air conditioning not working (and Madrid was in the midst of a heat wave). The next morning, the staff were very nice and helpful and ended up moving us into an upgraded room and ended up providing us with free breakfast for the rest of the stay. The staff are also very helpful in finding restaurants, things to do and transportation. The stay was so good that after our 4 day Andalusian tour, my wife and I ended up staying at the Catalonia Plaza Mayor again for a night before heading off to Barcelona. I would definitely stay here again if I find myself in Madrid in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel at a great location in Madrid

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Quiet at night, which means I can have a good night's rest even in the middle of busy Madrid. Breakfast buffet option is also pretty good.
Cons: No complaints! Overall I had a pretty comfortable and relaxing stay.
Location: About a 5 minute walk to Plaza Mayor and less than 10 minute walk to Puerto Del Sol, where much of the activity and night life happens.
Really enjoyed my stay here at Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor. The staff are all very helpful and professional. In fact, there was a point during my stay where my room key card didn't work, and they were immediate and professional in attending to that matter. The double room I stayed in has a lot of space, and is situated in a part of Madrid that is surprisingly quiet at night, which means I can definitely have a good night's rest after a full day of exploring the city. It is also about less than 10 minute walk to Puerto Del Sol or about a 5 minute walk to Plaza Mayor, which is where all the activity happens. There are a lot of cafes and bakeries nearby as well, so if you choose not to eat at the hotel for breakfast, you have other options as well, although I must admit, the hotel breakfast is pretty good too, and maybe try it at least once so you can have a hearty meal to start your day and explore the rest of the city afterwards. I was also happy with the room rates, which I thought was reasonable given the quality of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Very comfortable. Great location. Helpful staff. Very clean & quiet
5 out of 5
by Sally

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by marcello

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location, Comfortable stay

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location. Plaza Major, Sol, Gran Via, Prado and other major museums are all reachable within 10/15 minutes on foot. Atocha train station is a 15-minute downhill walk. Lots of cafes and restaurants between the hotel and Plaza Major and Sol. Newly renovated and clean, comfortable rooms. "City view" rooms face a relatively busy road (with cars) and buildings on the other side of that road, but double glazing and two sets of doors do a good job in keeping noises out of the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Rafael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels