Ratings based on 473 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2018
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2018
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belize

Good location

Posted Apr 16, 2018
Hotel was located in a good location. Staff are very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

No regrets

Posted Apr 11, 2018
It suffers a bit from the usual Mexican situation, not enough thought given to long term maintenance. Ex a number of pool tiles are long gone; a simple fix, if, when you built the place, you kept a supply somewhere knowing they’d eventually be needed. But you see that everywhere in Mexico. Anyway, all in all, quite an excellent place for the money, with good restaurants an easy walk away, and a nice front desk staff to welcome you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Overrated!

Posted Apr 8, 2018
Not sure why this hotel has good reviews. We stayed there for half our trip and was very disappointed. The staff was very unfriendly and put out with any request or question (such as a refill of coffee at breakfast, four towels in the room since we had four people, etc). Trying to get towels for the pool was a chore as well. Restaurant food was okay and you had to hunt down staff to get service. There was something every day that made the experience worse. Had we not booked through Expedia and paid already, we would have moved back to our first hotel. This place was awful!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calgary

Gran Illusion Real.

Posted Apr 8, 2018
Staff were reasonably helpful and pleasant more than competent...we paid an extra $18 for a third bed and person, then had to ask for linens and blankets and debate the charges for a third bottle of water... Room and pool were great for comfort. A sinister late night experience in the bar was a little troubling...the collection of staff and others would have made an excellent crew for a spaghetti western. The look I got awaiting my change after ordering a beer (and leaving part of intended tip on the counter) caused me to shudder and depart quickly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2018
Staff very friendly, kinda hard to sleep at times, could hear furniture being moved in the adjacent rooms, wish housekeeping would’ve changed the shower curtain at least once during our 7 day stay, housekeeping also overlooked that we were out of toilet paper
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Good hotel in Merida!

Posted Apr 6, 2018
Pros: Pros--Hotel was very nice on the inside and had a free parking. It was renovated and decorated in a colonial style. It had a nice, clean pool.
Cons: Cons--The restaurant was extremely mediocre. Since most clients in the hotel were Mexicans, the restaurant only served traditional Mexican meals.
Location: Hotel is in the middle of town so it is centrally located.
The hotel was very nice inside. It was renovated and decorated in a Colonial style.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockford, IL

Posted Apr 1, 2018
The hotel is conveniently located in the old downtown. Walking distance to the central plaza. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. We were fortunate to be upgraded to a suite, which was spacious and nice. Unfortunately, we left for the airport in the middle of the night, so our stay was short. I would recommend the Gran Real Yucatan to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place to stay

Posted Mar 30, 2018
Tasteful atmosphere. The rooms are clean and the furniture is great.Bed and linens are comfortable.