Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chester, UK

Too futuristic for its own good

Posted Sep 23, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: I suppose the central location.
Cons: People need to be warned that there are no staff on site and that all interaction is with a remote team, linked by a (sometimes poor) video connection
The Hostal Asunción is in a beautiful old Madrid building, in a very central area, and once upon a time I bet it was a good place to stay. Now it’s a nightmare, a Margaret Atwood, post-apocalyptic nightmare. That’s because the accommodation is run remotely, by video-telephony link, to a central team somewhere. There is no staff on site. You press the buzzer at street level and have to wait for a member of the remote team to answer. Presumably they are managing other places too. Something they appear to me to have missed is that the accommodation is in a really busy part of Madrid, with lots of bars, with outside tables and lots of noise. Because of this it was impossible to hear if anyone had answered our press of the buzzer. The remote management team informed us that our pre-payment of the room had not gone through and that we needed either to put cash in an envelope and deposit the envelope in a safe they have set up, or start giving card details down the video-telephony link (as if). Fortunately, we had just enough cash. We had to hold each note up to the video camera. Two other guests walked past as we were doing that. It was embarrassing. The voice on the phone line said they welcomed suggestions. I suggested they hire some people to give a proper service to paying guests. The whole thing is nuts. There are chairs in the hall area, just outside the bedrooms. The chairs are linked by a huge chain and secured by a padlock.
4 out of 5
by Destiny

Slow check-in, but otherwise worth it!

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
This was very well located--right next to a metro station and restaurants, BUT two reasons I did not rate it 5/5 all the way: 1. Check in took almost an hour as myself and a couple of other guests were buzzing the door outside for 30 minutes and no one let us into the building. Administration for the hotel isn't physically present so I have no idea how that usually works, but we could only get in touch with them once we got into the building, which took 30 minutes. After that, check-in was smooth-- we had to use a camera and telecom system to call in with someone who gave us our room numbers, room door codes (no keys, they use a number pad), and wifi passwords. 2. It was very noisy because regular patrons live in the same building and I was in a room towards the middle of the building and the guys across the court yard put their music on blast. I know it's not the hotel's fault that happened, but it still affected my stay. Other than that, the room was clean and comfortable enough! For the money I paid, I would probably stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Anna

Hard to check in, but amazing location

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
Very hard to check in - lost over an hour after a long trip while unable to get a hold of anyone. But the place was overall nice.
2 out of 5
by Yingyi

A different style

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
The location is convenient and the room and the bathroom are clean. The no person in reception is weird. You talk to a camera and get all instructions from speaker. Have to take time to use to it. We didn't have problems entering the building because there was a person coming out at that time. We can leave our luggages in the receiption room before check in. Every room has access code but we were told the code publicly in the receiption room by speaker! Lots of bars and restaurants nearby. Kind of noisy in the night. And you can hear next room's TV too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad service dirty room

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
The service was awful. We asked for advice regarding the best way to go to airport and the guy in reception said "I have no idea". The room was dirty and we found a used soap in the shower courtain. Just stayed one night. They have an strage system of passwords for getting into the rooms wich results very unsafe because there are many codes for opening the doors. The safe didn't work.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Hard to find.

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Location was great.
Cons: Motion sensor lights in bathroom stay on too long and cant just turn it on/off. Motion sensor light in halls/stairwell delayed and dark.
Location: Pubs, restaurants, public transit just outside the door. 20-30min walk to palace, plaza major and retiro park.
Directly downtown with good location walking distance to mostly everything! Hard to initially find and no face to face staff when checking in. Clean rooms, hard bed, small shower stall, private rooms. All newer security doors and safe.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
It was great because of the urgency to get a room at a decent price ( room around 850 euros the night in average in Madrid at that time ). However, if i had the choice I wouldn't have picked it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Amilcar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liverpool UK

Average hostal - decent price for location

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Location - very close to Metro station and a five minute walk down to Chueca Keypad door entry - no keys
Cons: A kettle and water would be very useful, especially after arriving late. I was gasping for a drink but had to wait until morning.
Location: 30 second walk to the metro station alonso martinez. Nice restaurants and bars outside; it seems to be a nice neighbourhood. Chueca closeby.
I arrived late in the evening due to missed flight; warned the hostal who said no problem. Arrived and they expected me to go to another hotel 20 minutes away at Plaza de Espana to register. I refused and eventually got the room code, my Spanish is average but the night staff's english was very poor. It was a bit of a nightmare after a horrid journey. There are currently building works which wasn't mentioned so I had a lovely view of scaffolding and netting. With work-men starting loud building works bang on 9am each day. The room was very small for a double (could just walk around the edge of the bed) but the location is fantastic and I couldn't really grumble at the price. Clean and basic with a decent bathroom.