Ratings based on 384 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Linda

Ok, for a good nights sleep

Posted Dec 23, 2017 on Hotels
Terrible wifi, indifferent staff. We were going to Starbucks for internet. The front desk wouldn’t let me in the room when my hubby was out. Nice to have coffee (when they remembered) and a mini bar. Sort of out of the way abandoned street, but close enough to walk everywhere. Tiny pool, freezing cold. What’s up with that? Comfy bed. The air on blew right on you. We’d turn it off and wake up to turn it back on. Ok shower, the sink sprayed water everywhere though. Quiet unless the room next to you was occupied, you could hear everything.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston, ON

Great find, but ...

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Pros: Location, decor, staff
Cons: Turn courtyard lights down at 10 pm and put up a sign asking guests not to use the courtyard at night.
Location: A short walk to the main square, Santa Lucia, and Santiage square (with open-air loncherias serving Yucatecan snacks like salbutes and panuchos).
This is the fifth in a chain of Yucatecan boutique hotels (with another scheduled to open in January). Great location close to downtown, charming decor and reasonable rates. But the windows of our room unfortunately opened onto an internal courtyard, which meant lights shining into the room at night and -- worse -- fellow guests partying right outside at 4 am one night.
4 out of 5
by Jesus Mauricio

You´ll get much more for the money that you payed

Posted Nov 25, 2017 on Hotels
Excelent location inside Downtown. Clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Great location! Very cute hotel, lots of colours and plants. Room was very comfortable and clean, and the reception staff very friendly (and happy to give plenty of recommendations for restaurants etc). If back in Merida, I would definitely choose this hotel.
3 out of 5
by Jacques

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida, usa


Posted Oct 16, 2017
Front desk people were very welcoming they gave us a larger room in the first floor but no bathroom door!? ? I’m assuming that room was in construction it was nice and the windows really stopped the outside noise so you don’t have to worry if you are staying in a room looking at the street
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice idea but poor execution

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: The architecture and the ambience, besides it is very well located in downtown Merida.
Cons: Putting more attention to the condition of their facilities.
I was looking forward to my stay in this hotel but I was unpleasantly surprised. I arrived late night and I basically stored my bags and went to bed after some personal cleansing. However, next morning with a little more time in my hands I discovered that the plumbing underneath the bathroom sink was basically disconnected from the hotel's plumbing (first bad point) so I had to brush my teeth while in the shower. Then, when I was taking my morning shower I discovered that the drain was clogged, but not completely so the water was draining but very slowly (second bad point). After closing the shower door (the shower is in a room) I was surprised to discover that the door knob was still in my hand (third bad point). Finally, when I am laying up my clothes for the day, I discovered that there is no iron, I had to request it and they bring me a an iron with literally an iron board without legs so I had to place it on top of the bed. While ironing on the bed is perfectly fine for most pieces of clothing, the task is not that easy for formal shirts (fourth bad point). Anyway, upon leaving the hotel for the day I reported the problems with the room and they fixed almost everything (not the ironing board).
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampton Roads, VA

Excellent boutique hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2017
We stayed in the private junior suite for 5 days in May 2017 and had a terrific experience; absolutely no complaints. It was only a ten minute drive from the airport and cost about $5 with uber. The staff was bilingual and helped us confirm several local tours that we had booked online. The decor was tropical and open and each room seemed to have a lot of privacy with lots of plants and trees around to make you feel like you were just hidden away. I recommend booking the private suite because you get your own pool, which is lovely.
5 out of 5
by Froy

Wonderful extended visit

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
This was our second trip to Merida to explore the city as a potential permanent retirement community. We chose the Art 57 to "live as an urban Merida resident" for our 9 night/10 day visit. We reserved a junior suite with daily continental breakfast. While the breakfast was a bit redundant for 10 days (shorter stays it would be fine). Our room came with private pool (cooling/splash tub for 2 people) at this colorful, yet tranquil boutique style hotel . The hotel is conveniently located in the historical district of Merida. Walking distance to many wonderful restaurants, shops, and the famous "Sunday Market" celebrated each and every weekend. For those destinations beyond walking distance, taxi and even Uber service can get you where you want to be quickly and very inexpensively. We even walked to the bus station and caught a comfortable, air conditioned bus to the beach in Progreso for 90 U.S. cents each way. Our room and the entire hotel for that matter was clean, tastefully decorated with the common areas lush with tropical gardens. The hotel staff was fantastic! Most everyone spoke a 2nd language in addition to Spanish. While the entire staff was as warm as the Merida weather, Natalia stood out as a shining star ensuring all our questions were answered and needs were met. We truly enjoyed our stay!
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

Friendly, lovely, quiet, clean, convenient clean

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Decor, friendly, helpful staff, dipping pool, safe, convenient neighborhood, breakfast.
Cons: Please fix the TV.
Location: Close to to large parks with shops, restaurants, entertainment including carriage rides and nightly free performances.
Glad we paid extra for the room with a pool. The pool was a private "dipping pool" -- not large enough to do laps, but definitely big enough in which to stay cool and play. Staff was friendly, helpful and most spoke good English yet had the kindness to be patient as I practiced my elementary Spanish. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was fruit artfully arranged, rolls, juice, and coffee. While it's conveniently located in a safe neighborhood in the heart of the city, it's so quiet and pretty that you feel like you're in a resort. Only problem we had was that our TV never worked despite our letting the staff know, but that was a minor problem considering the assets.