Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Mountain View, CA

Excellent location. Impeccable service!

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Location, stylish design and great service!
Cons: If you are sensitive to noise, chose a courtyard room.
Location: The hotel is just a quick walk to the main Atocha Train Station and Metro and 2 bus stops right outside.
The hotel is just a quick walk to the main Atocha Train Station and Metro. In addition, you have a bus stop that will take you to most of the touristic routes you need. You can literally walk to Museo Del Prado, Parque del Retiro and if you dare, go to El Sol Square. Take the breakfast package if you are used to having one in the morning or need to leave early for business meetings. There are no open restaurants before 9 am, except for McDonald's next door. The buffet is very well appointed with a wide variety. You can go downtown for dinner and find great options, but if you are tired and want to stay at the hotel, Tabla Fina will not disappoint you on food or wine. Ask for Carlos Garcia at the restaurant. He is phenomenal pairing cheese and wine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great location for museums and gardens

Posted May 11, 2017
Lovely, modern hotel in great location across from The Prado. Easy walks to other museums, gardens and neighborhood restaurants. Room was large and modern. Good cafe in lobby.
5 out of 5
by Alina

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location, luxury, modern, friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliantly situated for station and galleries

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Proximity to galleries and cleanliness
I went with a group to visit the art galleries in Madrid and this was within a 10 minute walk of the Prado, Sophia, Thyssen, so ideal. The breakfast was very good, so it was perfect for our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Conveniently located for public transportation including the Hop On Hop Off Bus tours. Bus stops right in front of the hotel. Easy access to food within a 5 min walking radius
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Conveniently located in the museum district, close to metro station and Atocha train station. Rooms are clean and modern.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA USA

Looks good, service not so much

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Proximity to art galleries and train station. Room cleanliness was good.
Cons: Clarity of room alternative amenities and prices . Staff dedicated to good service. Provide stamps for post cards.
Location: See above.
We looked at many Madrid hotels in different locations, different price ranges, different sizes. NH Nacional looked like a good value. We knew the room would be somewhat small, but location was excellent, across Paceo del Prado from two of the big three museums, and walking distance to Atocha train station. Price looked very attractive. When we checked in the desk clerk explained that our room would not have any of the standard amenities. No coffee maker, no slippers, no robes, no view. We would have to upgrade to levels (at 20 Euros/night for each level) in order to get the amenities we expected. The clerk acted very matter of fact, not friendly, and communicated the attitude that he didn't care whether we stayed or not. This attitude largely persisted for the 4 nights we stayed there. No restaurant recommendations or assistance. We were given a map, but very little effort to even point out places of interest to us. No help with knowledge of train station process. Not even a stamp to mail a post card. This is the worst service experience we have had at any hotel, anywhere in the world. There was one notable exception. Carlos, who works in the small restaurant/bar in the front of the hotel. He was friendly, helpful, interesting, and available, all in stark contrast to the rest of the staff. Carlos was the bright spot in an otherwise dingy experience. The hotel had many small business meetings each day. Perhaps this is the type of customer to which they cate
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel but very small room. Fine for 1 night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the station, to El Retiro park & Park

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Cons: no. Maybe a coffee machine in standard rooms.
Great, we love Madrid and this is a great comfortable and conveniently located hotel near the main attractions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels