Ratings based on 1,040 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples, Florida

Fabulous location for New Years Eve and Exploring!

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Pros: Location was good, hotel was clean and safe!
Location: Shopping, Train station steps away from the hotel very easy to move around, Restaurants, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Major.
Nice personable hotel in the Center of Madrid "Puerta Del Sol". Location was perfect with train stations just steps from the hotel to all parts of Spain. Everything you need is close buy, shopping, restaurants, culture and tourist stops. Hotel was clean and safe! We had front row seats for the rooftop balcony. We have visited Spain in the past but this time we stayed in Madrid only for the New Year Celebrations. A small escape that was very affordable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Argyll, Scotland

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Pros: It's in a wonderful location, in the historic heart of Madrid, only a short distance from all the famous historic buildings, museums, etc.
Cons: It is good as it is. It is not pretending to be a "five-star" hotel, but it is an honest and really nice place
Location: It could not be more central. It is in the bustling historic centre of Madrid with a wonderful atmosphere; full of fabulous eating places, shops, etc.
I approached the place with some apprehension as often the reality differs considerably from the description given by the hotel management or travel companies. The location and the price seemed attractive, but the fact that there were "shared toilet and shower facilities" scared me a bit. But then I stayed in youth hostels all the time in my younger days and it was not such a big deal. The hotel was a pleasant surprise. I shared the bathroom facilities with only one other room, and everything was clean and nice. The hotel could not be in a better location: only a few steps away from the metro station, in Puerta del Sol, the heart of the old town. The hotel was a rather simple affair without pseudo-glamorous gimmicks (which nobody needs, except some impressionable and gullible people who like to be conned into a feeling of "prestige" when there is really nothing there except a silly façade) but everything was more than sufficient; a nice atmosphere , in an old,nice and clean building, good breakfast, pleasant staff. I was very pleased with everything and would like to stay at the hotel again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is a Hostal not a Hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Cons: Cleanliness, and transparency on behalf of Expedia hotel details.
Location: Location is not the safest, the people label the area as the most dangerous of the city.
It is deceiving that it says it is a Hotel yet you reach your room and rules on your room wall are presented as Hostal rules. This is a Hostal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paper thin walls

Posted Jan 5, 2018 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, balcony, clean rooms, very nice staff who gave us extra pillows and wine glasses
Cons: Beds, paper thin walls, breakfast, poor quality towels that felt wet all the time
Location: Plaza del sol, restaurants, shopping, royal palace, art museums
Great location, nice staff, paper thin walls so we had to whisper because everyone could hear us, beds were terrible, very basic breakfast, bathrooms were clean. The private rooms with the bathrooms could be nice if they got better beds and have newer towels. The whole place just needs a bit of TLC. We stayed during New Year's Eve and the noise from the next room was much louder than the noise from the Plaza.
3 out of 5
by Jacob

Posted Jan 2, 2018 on Hotels
Perfect location. Hostel was old and worn down. Breakfast buffet did not live up to a minimal standard and, had I known, I would not have booked breakfast
5 out of 5
by Antonio Jose

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable

Posted Dec 24, 2017 on Hotels
Localización céntrica con vistas estupendas. Acogedor, limpio y tranquilo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, Nevada

Short vacation

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: The location and the staff
Cons: no complaints
Location: The best part of this hotel or then the price is the location near many toursits attractions and many places to eat
I had a short vacation the hotel is acually a hostel great location walking distance to many tourist attractions and many places to eat. Staff was very proffesional and helpfull. The rooms were kept clean and the shared bathroom was kept clean at all times.
5 out of 5
by Jessica

Great place, especially for the money.

Posted Nov 28, 2017 on Hotels
The location can’t be beat! We happened to be there for the lighting of the Christmas tree, and we were able to watch the whole thing from the balcony of our room! When we checked it, the lady at the desk was incredibly helpful and informative. She pointed out many less touristy places to see and restaurants to try. The WiFi in our room was very reliable and fast. The hotel overlooks Puerta del Sol, which is very busy and loud at all hours. Even when leaving for the airport before 5 am, people were out in the square. It can be noisy. Our room had solid windows and blinds that we could draw and that did a good job muffling the sound. A very light sleeper may not have as much success sleeping. Breakfast wasn’t so great, just bread for toast or sandwiches, two kinds of meat, one kind of cheese, and one kind of cereal. We wished there was more variety. Overall, I’d recommend this place, and I would definitely stay there again.
1 out of 5
by Nita

Only the location is good, nothing else

Posted Nov 22, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms in a rundown building. Shower so small even a child would be uncomfortable. There was no one at front desk when I arrived at 9:30 AM. Housekeeper told me to return at 1 PM. Room was not properly cleaned. The only redeeming feature was the central location, close to several sights and subway.