Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Estonia

Very nice hotel and a great value!

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Pros: price, location, comfort, breakfast
Location: close to Old Town
I chose this hotel based on price, and I will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Riga. The room was comfortable and everything was clean and well-maintained. The free breakfast was outstanding, and I loved the little grocery store next door for snacks and drinks. The young woman at check-in was friendly and helpful. Cool decor too, and an easy walk to the Old Town. I highly recommend this hotel for the value and comfort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by City Hotel Teater team, Hotel Management
Dear Alan, Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback! Looking forward to see you again in our hotel. Our warmest wishes!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tries hard but falls well short

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: 1. The reception staff. Lovely people and very helpful. 2. The shower in my room. Plenty of hot water all day and night.
Cons: Put kettles & multiple power sockets into the rooms. Put in tables/chairs suitable for a laptop. Sack the cook. He should be ashamed of the breakfast.
Location: Directly opposite the First Hospital, a 10 minute walk from the Old Town. Nothing much to do in Riga although the park in the Old Town is pleasant.
Spent five nights in this hotel in mid-September 2017. Hotel has very helpful staff and is clean throughout but the room and breakfast were disappointing to say the least. One spare power socket in the room, several yards from the (small) table. Asked for an extension lead and got it. Moderate WiFi with many PCs connected all day, many of them the hotel's own equipment I suspect. Bathroom small and basic (other rooms have much nicer bathrooms) but fitted with a well-made, basic shower cubicle. This was mounted directly on the floor, so the run-off did not drain adequately. However, there was plenty of hot water and the water pressure was good. The heated floor and towel rail made the thin (but adequate) towels nice and warm. I'd asked three weeks in advance for a double bed and was given three singles. On requesting to be given what I'd asked for, I was offered a small room with a nice bathroom and two single beds. I'm not convinced the hotel is aware of what it has on its inventory. No double bed so I kept what I had. Decent TV. The bedroom window opened directly into the reception area, so it had no source of fresh air and with the window open, it got a bit noisy, though not ridiculously so. A smaller window in the bathroom opened to the outside world. Breakfast. Oh Lord, it was awful. The 'hot food' was cold on 4 days out of 5 and barely warm on the fifth. The rest was unimaginative and much of it completely tasteless. Even the coffee was poor. A disgrace.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by City Hotel Teater team, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced.
4 out of 5
by Irina

Great hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
The employee were awesome, the service very good . Breakfast was wonderful - the variety, freshly served and restaurant- more than I expected. Only uncomfortable moment with flat iron: there is no plug next to the mirrors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
by Olena

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
Good location . Excellent breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Great find!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
A nice hotel in a great area. Convenient to a lot of Riga. The staff were super helpful. The room was clean and nicely set up. Beds were comfortable. The only issue would be louder guests who listen to TV top volume in the middle of the night. Thankfully that was only one night of the 9 we stayed. I will definitely recommend and visit this hotel next time we are in Riga.
5 out of 5
by GARY

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
First impression was great, the room is very spacious and Wifi is available, but is a bit slow. Welcoming staff is great on first and last day. :) Sadly after 2day of stay I wasn't able to go sleep before 2am. There is some club/bar nearby that plays very loud bass music. And rooms have ventilation holes which are connected to other rooms and you can hear people talking. There is breakfast included, which is great, but food is not the best quality. Could be improved. Also, if you are used to sleep in darker rooms, you will need to bring eye cover, as curtains are a bit narrow and when you pull one way, the other side is open etc. Sadly housekeeping wasn't great at all. When you leave the sign, they do go in but they haven't made my bed even once. And on my final day when I was packing I found someone else's shirt behind bedside table. That just shows how much attention is given for cleaning. It's great for short stay and local. But definitely not worth 4 stars!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay for this price

Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Hotels
I'll come back
4 out of 5
by Maxwell from US/ UK

Good access to town

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Nice place. Good location.Disappointed that the sauna was inoperable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in City Center.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
We were a party of 6 the only thing was we missed was the air condition ,we could here everything from the other rooms , beautiful Hotel.