Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unexpected luxury at Cerocahui

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Orbitz
I had not realized that the rooms I booked included full board. Consequently, we did not sample any of the apparently very few local establishments. The food was a big production, not standard Mexican fare, surprisingly delicious, and included vegetables! There were lots of tour groups (mostly people from Mexico City) coming in and out for one night stays at the hotel during the three nights we were there; our small group was an anomaly in this respect. We took a nice walk with Juan, a local guide. Two little boys scraped together some horses for us to ride one afternoon. We enjoyed soaking in the jacuzzi in the evening. We were there just before Easter, so there was a little carnival/market in the town square. We visited the mission school where the few tiny pupils remaining during Easter break were excited about watching a movie that they told us was to be about princesses.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from savannah,georgia

cerocahui stay

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: the surroundings, unhooked pace of life
Cons: wait staff.
Location: see above
the old, restored hotel is lovely, and, though the trees and bushes weren't in bloom or leaf'ed, we enjoyed watching the workers prepare the vineyards for this coming season's grapes. the tour to cerro de gallego resulted in a breathtaking experience and though the meals weren't over-the-top marvelous, they were very nicely presented and tasty. the wait-staff needs a bit of polishing but all were friendly and accommodating. the town square is beside the hotel and it was entertaining to buy a soda in the local shop and just "people watch" in the late afternoon. we were reminded of small time life of 50 years ago just by observing people's comings and goings. a resident "tour guide" is don juan. he guarantees you he is a local and has endless tales to spin. he readily leads tours to cascada cerocahui, talking about local personalities, flora and fauna on the way. there's no internet, limited cell phone service and no nightlife, but the surroundings are so interesting, one hardly misses it. it was wonderful having the opportunity to remember how we did things before the internet took over. and they make their own wine!
4 out of 5
by Ruediger

Best choice, but expensive choice

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
We selected this hotel as a stopover of the El Chepe ride form El Fuerte to Creel to make the excursion to the Urique Valley overlook - and that is really the only thing you can do there. Because of the lack of competition it is overpriced!
5 out of 5
by Cheryl from Long Beach

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Mision was a sweet little hotel in the Copper Canyon. Staff was extremely helpful. We had a wine vineyard right in front of our room - made for a lovely spot to have cocktail hour! There isn't much of a town here, but several good tours offered.
3 out of 5
by Richard from Philadelphia

Better on the Outside

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
Outside is much nicer to look at than the rooms; they are very, very basic: small bed, no Internet, no TV - Power went out often, were provided with a candle - Food was actually very good and included with the stay. The mission is a vineyard that produces its own wine and is pretty good, too. Good enough for an overnight stay along the Copper Canyon route.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix, AZ

A little slice of heaven in a beautiful valley!

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: The staff was very professional & helpful. The hotel architecture and location was enchanting. It was a very comfortable place to stay and relax.
We stayed at the Hotel Mision for one night during our Copper Canyon rail adventure. When we arrived at the Bahuichivo Station, the Hotel Mision Shuttle was waiting for us. Our bags were quickly loaded and we were off. We arrived at the Hotel Mision 30 minutes later. A staff member was waiting for us with delicious, complimentary margaritas. Our checkin process was swift and painless. Our room was perfect, clean and quiet. It can get chilly this time of year and there were plenty of extra blankets and firewood for the wood burning stove to keep us warm. Lunch was waiting for us and we immediately sat down to a delicious meal, starting with soup, pork chops and vegetables. After lunch, a staff member took us on a tour of the girls school and the nearby church, we were also treated to a stunning sunset. The nominally priced tour included a wine tasting of the La Mision wine. After the tour, we had time to explore on our own. Dinner was excellent and they allowed us to bring our own bottle of wine to the dinner. We went to bed that night feeling fully satisfied and well cared for. The next morning we enjoyed a full breakfast prior to heading off for the Overlook Tour. Unfortunately, when we arrived to the overlook, 45 minutes later, a huge cloud bank had engulfed the area, and there was nothing to be seen. The guide apologized profusely. Upon check out, we were surprised and delighted to learn that the Hotel did not charge us for the tour!
4 out of 5
by jorge m carrera from san diego ca

Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels
this Hotel in not for activity vacation close to early not choose on food no place to go out & visit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mando from Mar Vista, California

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pros: very quiet and relaxing place.
Cons: Internet service. a clock in the room.
Location: peaceful and relaxing location. far from the train station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynn from Florida, USA

Romantic and charming

Posted Oct 5, 2012
Pros: The gardens
Cons: Walking distance to you room
Location: Steps away from the church, school and zocalo
This is a charming hotel located in a quaint little village. The mission church and the school for the Tarahumara girls is just a short walk away. There are several tours that the hotel offers and they are reasonably priced. The food and service was excellent and they have a nice gift shop in the main lobby area. The gardens are filled with roses of every color and there was a small vineyard in front of our room. There are apple trees on the property as well. There is a small pool for a refreshing swim.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mexico

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Hermoso lugar. El hotel muy cómodo. Los viñedos le agregan un ambiente campirano y unico.