Ratings based on 480 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from berkeley ca

Perfect location with great amenities

Posted Jul 17, 2017
This hotel was perfect for our needs. We were going to Mercantia (festival in the old town) and hotel was in walking distance. We had our 19 month old boy with us so the combination of the pool and the large lovely grounds for him to explore was perfect for him. The room was great and the staff could t have been nicer or more helpful.
4 out of 5
by Danny

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Very beautiful hotel, located well to the town, and walkable to old town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Rooms are lovely, and very clean. The staff in the hotel are very helpful and friendly. Very close to the train station.
Cons: I couldn't fault the actual hotel. The location is about an hour away from all the cities, but the train service is good.
Location: The only down fall is the location. Certaldo is a very quiet village with next to nothing to do! Bars and restaurants close very early.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex, U.K

Great location to visit surrounding areas.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Easy free parking, great staff and location for visiting surrounding places.
Cons: Eating in the hotel although very nice was a little expensive.
Location: Not an awful lot in Certaldo other than the Old Town Walled City.
very helpful and friendly staff, garden and hotel more attractive than appeared on line.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Great location, close to Certaldo old city and San Gimignano
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worn with tiny pool under a pigeons roost

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Fitness center in unrenovated separate old building - one windowless room- with 3 pieces of equipment. In this separate building Some window panes missing or are broken, pigeons roosting above, ugly. Main building has torn outside furniture, torn plastic pool liner; bird droppings & feathers in pool area . Would not return. Breakfast was ok- and some charm but not well kept overall.Spouse had to tighten legs on room side table to use it. Walls scarred by marks- need paint!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United States

About the level of a Fairfield Inn or Hampton Inn.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Cons: It needs a makeover for the rooms.
We had hoped for much better when booking this hotel. The reviews were very good and pictures looked pretty good. The problem is that the rooms are not that great and common areas other than main ones are badly in need of a makeover. The ceiling tiles were missing on the way to our room and carpet is very worn. The breakfast in the AM was pretty sparse as well. Clearly this is a hotel that is used by many tour operators and is on that level. It is in between two fairly busy highways and the pictures really don't do that justice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur

Lovely Tuscan hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2016
My wife and I had an excellent short trip at Hotel Certaldo. It's a lovely quaint hotel with good facilities. Staff were friendly and attentive. The only small complaint that I had was that the shower cubicle was small, but everything else was in great condition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chorly , Lancs , UK

Excellent Hotel , right in the heart of Tuscany

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Air conditioning!, location , Breakfast and most importantly the staff.
Cons: If I had to be picky it would be electrical points .. for some reason only the shaver and plugs outside fit my UK to Euro adaptors but that picky
Location: you have a Medevil Village up on the hill in Certaldo .. you have all the greatest Florintine city's within an hour by train from this location .
This is a bit of a gem, I had left my passport and return tickets at pisa Airport .. only discovered this at 00:40 in the morning on Arrival to the Hotel ... without the staff (night manager and reception staff) I would have been lost .. they got in contact with the Airport , sorted out my train times and we got there by 10am the following with the Airport Police holding my lost stuff.. I could not have been more impressed. The Hotel is on the edge of Certaldo a great little town equidistant from Pisa , Firenze & Sienna great location with very good train connections
5 out of 5
by Alison from Rogers, Arkansas

Perfect Central Location between Florence & Siena.

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed 3 weeks. It was great. Perfect central location to take a 45-minute train ride to either Florence or Siena.