Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique experience at a bargain price

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
True country location with short or long hiking trails in the woods of the national park starting at the hotel. Hiking poles, canoes, bicycles all available. Not upscale but certainly comfortable and spotlessly clean--and the price we paid for dinner, room and breakfast was little more than we paid for dinner alone at our Helsinki hotel. It’s easy to find either from Cesis or Segulda (the two big tourist sites) with signs to Karli on both main roads (either off P20 or E77/A2), but these are right at the intersection of what is a small, local road, so be alert.
5 out of 5
by Basil

Peaceful and scenic

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Wish we had stayed here more nights! This was such a relaxing and lovely setting after the hustle and bustle of the larger cities! The meals (breakfast and dinner) were delicious and healthy! Our room, the Elizabeth suite, was very spacious and had a wonderful view. We enjoyed sitting out back and having a glass of wine, and loved our visit to nearby Cesis Castle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica

Rural alternative to main cities

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: Size of rooms and setting
Cons: Need to confirm meals ahead of time - otherwise 8-10km drive to a restaurant.
Location: Walking tracks from the property. Nearby Cesis has a great castle and nice architecture. Good cafes and restaurants.
This property is situated on a gravel road in the countryside. Do not let this put you off as it is a beautiful setting with a lovely host. Dinner and breakfast onsite recommended but book ahead particularly if in the shoulder seasons. Great walking tracks on your doorstep and historic towns nearby. Rooms spacious and well appointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful backwoods mansion!

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Location: The Cesis - Segulda area is a must for those visiting Latvia - not just sports but history, castles, excellent restaurants, beautiful countryside.
This beautiful small mansion near Karli and just south of Cesis was a delightful surprise. Tastefully renovated, very clean, welcoming, helpful hosts who speak English, very good breakfast, plus quiet, delightful grounds. They will also provide dinner and you can experience a pirts (Latvian sauna) if you book ahead. Great experience!
5 out of 5
by kristi from San Francisco

Lovely

Posted Jul 4, 2015 on Hotels
Pros: Quiet, comfortable and great for nature lovers. Good value. Hosts were very helpful with transportation. Cons: Food prices are a bit steep compared to other parts of Latvia (E18 dinner and E7 for breakfast buffet. That said, it was a 3 course dinner and excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Pretty spot located 3kms off the main road.

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Booked in-house dinner which was very nice. Exceptionally quiet. Unfortunately the weather was wet. It would have been nice to walk in the pretty surroundings, but we weren't dressed for hiking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels
This is a modest but lovely small country inn. The proprietors are helpful and dedicated. The food is adequate though basic. The grounds are beautiful. We enjoyed our visit but our stay was marred by the fact that the termperature was unusually high for the region and our upper floor room was stifflingly hot with windows that opened only a crack and no fan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from Texas

Loved staying in this country manor house!

Posted May 23, 2013
Pros: Loved the historic stone building and lush grounds
Location: The location is ideal-- only a few miles from the center of Cesis and very quiet, private, and beautiful.
I'm really glad I stayed here instead of in the city center of Cesis... it was well worth the short drive to stay in an old (but completely modernized and spotlessly clean) stone manor house with lovely grounds. I had a big, comfortable room with views of blooming apple trees and I appreciated the friendly reception and free wifi. If I ever return to Cesis, I will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by m. pilosof

away from all

Posted Jul 14, 2012 on Hotels
only few rooms. we have got the biggest with a balcony. plenty of room for just two. airy and well lit. very quite. breakfast is only ok, could be a bit more personal and with bigger verity. be sure to get the driving directions beforehand. took us a while to find the place.