Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Th from FRANCE

merite sa place dans le guide des 1000 lieux à vo

Posted Aug 2, 2013 on Hotels
un hotel extraordinaire, même si 3 kms de piste, loin de tout. MAIS un superbe hotel, resto sur place top et pas cher, acceuil top, parc de l'hotel grandiose ; Cet hôtel fait partie du guide des 1000 lieux à voir, il mérite sa place ! De plus on a eu une bel promo sur hotel.com, hors saison .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by MelanieR

Chachagua Rain Forest Lodge

Posted Apr 10, 2013 on HotelClub
Enjoyed staying at this somewhat rustic, but very comfortable lodge. Highly recommend booking the individual bungalows - very spa like feel. the grounds offer a working plantation and beautiful grounds. Staff was polite and helpful. My only suggestion is they should offer daily guided walks through their rainforest trails - as they highly discourage people from going on their own (snakes!)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KT from New York, NY, USA

lush rainforest hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2013
Pros: very imbedded with nature, peaceful
Cons: food was okay
Location: nice to be out of a town, the 2k road is a rough ride
We loved CRH. Such a beautiful place. We got a bungalow for a family of 4 and it was fine. The staff was very nice and efficient. The grounds are amazing. We did lots of walks around the grounds and on the trails. A sloth lived in a tree behind the restaurant for a few days which was amazing! We saw lots of fantastic birds and butterflies. The road to the hotel is really bumpy/rocky. I recommend a 4 wheel drive. It is a really special place and so nice to retreat to after a big day of zip lining, hiking or hot springing. We stayed 5 nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rachel from Cambridge, ON, Canada

Get away and unwind!

Posted Apr 2, 2013
Pros: Beatuful and secluded
Cons: Decklike flooring in the bathroom
Location: A hidden gem 2km down an unpaved road but definitely worth the bumpy ride
Amazing and beautiful. A great place to go to get away and unwind. The staff were friendly and very helpful. A GREAT experience for me and my husband on our honeymoon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jorge from Miami, FL, USA

Gem in the Jungle

Posted Apr 2, 2013
Pros: The grounds and the restaurant, including food and staff preparing and serving you.
Cons: Water temperature in shower.
Location: It is a bit remote and not close to grocery stores. You should count on eating at the restaurant onsite, which is great.
The location is remote but the grounds are beautiful. The restaurant is great and breakfast is included in the price of the room. All meals served were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Family from NY

Perfect place for family vacation

Posted Apr 1, 2013 on Hotels
You should stay at least 2 or 3 nights to enjoy nature trail and horse back riding!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by the Robledos

undiscovered paradise

Posted Mar 9, 2013 on Hotels
I absolutely have no complaints about my stay it was a great hotel in the middle of the rainforest the only bad part about this location is of course as the previous reviews have said is the 45 minute drive up to the hotel from the main road there is nothing close by so do have in mind if you plan to go anywhere from the hotel it will take at least 50 minute to get to the nearest town this place is amazing location is amazing weekend of the bungalows they are great I would definitely stay here again if I was to travel to Costa Rica. This location was just what we needed to get away from the city noise
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Meag

Great out of the way place

Posted Mar 6, 2013 on Orbitz
We had a very nice time here but it is way out of the way if you don't have a vehicle. We did find things to do on the property. Visiting the garden and talking with the gardener, Marvin is a must. The night tour with Christian was very good. The restaurant does not have enough variety and the prices are too high for what you get. Would recommend the hotel to friends after telling the pros and cons. Beautiful grounds.
3 out of 5
by Natasha L

gorgeous, but overrated

Posted Mar 6, 2013 on Orbitz
The hotel was gorgeous, but definitely overrated. In the future I would stay somewhere else. There were plenty of other hotels in the same price range that had more to offer. It was about a 30 minute drive away from La Fortuna, Arenal volcano and all activities. It was $30 for a hike of their grounds. They told me it was ‘cheap’. I find that expensive for an hour and half- especially when it’s on site. This was the only thing to do at the hotel. The bungalow is amazing. Very relaxing. Nature all around you. The room didn’t have a TV, phone or air conditioner. None of this was a problem for us. The room is still very cool. Some nights we were even cold. It was raining most of the time so we couldn’t really enjoy the hotel grounds. The restaurant food was surprisingly good; their staff was very friendly & accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karen from Edmonton Alberta

A gem in tjhe rainforest

Posted Feb 28, 2013
Pros: The peace and quiet
Cons: The food
Location: A little off the beaten path but well worth the drive!
A beautiful hotel in the Rainforest! The beds are a little hard, but we found that everywhere we stayed in Costa Rica. We had a bungalow room and it was very nice, with a deck on the front that you could sit and relax on. The staff was great! Food in the restaurant was ok, not the best we have ever had but not the worst either. We went on a night tour of the rainforest and were very happy with the tour and the guide. It was a bumpy ride on a bad road to get there, but I am very glad we made the trip!