Ratings based on 557 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh PA

Nice small hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pros: Convenient to Longwood and Lancaster
Cons: Pillows in room need replaced
Location: Longwood Gardens
This is a small hotel with easy access to rooms. Personal was very nice. I think it is a privately owned hotel that is a nice change from staying in the big chains. A nice personnel touch
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

front desk staff should be more accomodating

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: Clean & close the site
Cons: a better training of the front desk staff
Location: good restaurant, & good for visiting Longwood garden day & night
We arrived at the hotel front desk @ 1:00 PM the front desk personnel told us that last night it was full so all room are not ready to check in we have to wait until 3:00 PM to be able do the process, but the parking lot was empty on our arrival , we finally check in @ 2:55 PM this is very inconvenience for a traveller who need to take a short rest or nap before a busy evening attending in Longwood garden evening display.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by lili, Hotel Management
I'm sorry you were not able to check in early our check in time is 3pm. The reason the parking lot was empty because everyone had checked out and we were getting the rooms ready for the 3pm check in time. If a guest needs to get in a couple of hours early they usually call the morning of and tell us they need early checkin so we can get something ready. We had no idea you would be coming that early and rooms were not totally clean at that point. So maybe you need early check in call the hotel and advise them. Thankyou, Lisa Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Very good as usual. Convenient to attractions. Staff pleasant and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by lili, Hotel Management
Thank You for your reciew! Happy Holidays Lisa Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel very pleasant stay

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: cozy
Cons: beds could be a little firmer
Location: very nicely located
loved the breakfast room. the staff is very accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by lili, Hotel Management
Thank You for your review. We really try and have every guest enjoy their stay. Happy Holidays!! Lisa manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sayville, NY

Nice Hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: Centrally located in Chadds Ford
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Brandywine River Museum
We enjoyed our stay in the suite. The staff was polite and helpful. The room was spacious and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by lili, Hotel Management
Thank You for your review, we really appreciate hearing that you enjoyed your stay. Lisa Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Nov 14, 2017
I had a lovely stay in BRH many years ago, but it now looks tired and worn, less like a quaint hotel it used to be. It's in a great location with lots nearby to see, experience and dine in. It needs a spruce up, welcoming staff when you arrive or return, less of a "thanks for your money, you're on your own" atmosphere. When we use a hotel, we not only want a good night's sleep and a hot shower, but the feeling of care, a bit of pampering and that the hotel is there to make us feel welcomed. BRH just needs an uplift, both physically and in spirit to get back to what is required in the Brandywine Valley for its guests and locals.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by lili, Hotel Management
Very sorry you didn't feel we pampered you enough while you were here. Most of our reviews are about how welcoming the staff is and helpful with all of the questions asked. The hotel did just get a lift 3 years ago when everything was changed, new rugs, wallpaper, new bathrooms,etc. Thank You for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Nice hotel. Needs some bedroom update.

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Hotel was nice. Needs some updates in bedrooms. Personnel didn’t know area well to make recommendations
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Lisa Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Trip to Longwood gardens and Nemours !

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Location comfort and a clean room with a great breakfast to.
Cons: Earlier breakfast
Location: Very close to Longwood gardens and great eats plus museams
Loved this hotel its location was perfect the staff was very helpful and so friendly as well .We also enjoyed the breakfast it was excellent. There is a cool resteraunt called Brandy Prime with a happy hour you dont want miss ! We had a blast there so friendly and great food we ate in the tavern part and its only steps from the hotel ! Comfy bed and quiet location we will be staying here again !
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Thank You for your lovely review!! Lisa Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Location: Good restaurants in the adjacent lot. No need to get in the car. Recommend making reservations.
Excellent location in the beautiful Brandywine Valley. The hotel feels rather like a retirement community - Comfortable, warm, welcoming with a majority of seniors visiting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Lisa, Hotel Management
Thanks you for your lovely review. Lisa Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

No heat in room. They compensated with space heate

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Same as above. Hopefully our bill will be adjusted accordingly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Lisa, Hotel Management
We did not turn on the heat because the majority of our guests were hot it was in the upper 70's and the evening in the 60's heat was not necessary. Lisa Manager