Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Monsieurnono from Malaysia

Excellent Hotel With Charming People

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent
3 out of 5
by Robert from Dudley

Ideal good value hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
Short 1 night business trip
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old but charming

Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels
Very charming old hotel. No elevator though. Good location--you can take the free minibus right across the street for sightseeing and getting to and from the train station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear client, We are glad you spent a nice night in our hotel. We are sorry but we can not have a lift because of the architecture of our building. Thank you for coming in our establishment. Kind regards, Aurore Receptionist
4 out of 5
by John

Good value

Posted Oct 9, 2015 on Hotels
This is an old hotel currently being renovated and we were lucky enough to have an upgraded room which was small but adequate with an excellent new bathroom. The staff were wonderful and we appreciated their excellent English and their help with planning our sightseeing around Burgundy. A good value hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2015 by Aurore, Hotel Management
Dear guest. We are enchanted to see that you spent a very nice trip in Bourgogne. We would be delighted to welcome you again. Now all our rooms are renovated. Thank you for sharing your opinion. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Typical 3 star European hotel.

Posted Oct 7, 2015
Pros: Close to center of town and railway station.
Cons: Price seemed a little high for a 3 star hotel.
Location: See above.
Staff was great in notifying of the market day and giving directions to several other areas. Room was fine with an adequate bathroom. TV had 2 English speaking channels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2015 by Aurore, Hotel Management
Dear guest. We are glad to observe that you appreciated your stay in Chalon. We would be glad to see you again. Regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not a three start hotel.....

Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Hotels
Surprised that this is classified as a a three start hotel! No shower, tiny bathtub, not sure how one is supposed to clean oneself!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2015 by Aurore, Hotel Management
Dear guest. We are sorry that the bathroom was not high as your expectation. Some of our rooms are only equipped with showers. Comfort rooms all have bathtubs. And most of of standard rooms are equipped with bathtubs where you can take a shower. Three of our standard rooms have a walk in shower. Nevertheless, we hope you spent a good night. Thank you for giving your opinion. Sincerely yours
4 out of 5
by louise from London

Ideally placed

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
IDEALLY PLACED TO EXPLORE CHALON SUR SAONE
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2015 by Aurore, Hotel Management
Dear guest. We are enchanted you took advantage of our position in center-town to explore the old city. We hope you spent a nice stay in Chalon. Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Bern, NC

Nice hotel close to historical section of city.

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: modern bathroom; faced the street
The hotel is a block away from the historical part of the city, and it is located is near the laundry mat, restaurants, stores, cafes, etc. The room was small and comfortable. The only drawback is the lack of an elevator. I would go back.
4 out of 5
by Nancy from San Francisco

Great location near many lively restaurants

Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels
Great location near many restaurants and shops, yet the room was very quiet. The room seemed very recently renovated and was very nice. We had to pay for public parking, but it was reasonable and very near to the hotel. We arrived on a lovely summer evening at around 8:30 and atmosphere near the hotel was great. Busy restaurants open to the sidewalks and loads of people out and about
2 out of 5
by Dan Szuhay from Maineville, Ohio

One time experience

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels
The location for a quick stop between destinations for a younger crowd that is looking for a budget friendly location would find this place O.K. Our view point of the hotel is clouded because of some personal health issues that were not helped by the hotel. With that in mind it would be best to disregard our review.