Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Space age hotel near the best shopping

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Loved it there.... very different to most hotels. Friendly and welcoming with decor to die for. Waiter service a bit slow but hey - it’s Spain. Love it
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Vanessa Acebo - Executive Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you very much for choosing the Puerta America Hotel during your visit to Madrid, and for taking the time to post your review. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed a perfect stay with us in a unique environment. Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose,Costa Rica.

Design and Class

Posted Nov 8, 2017
The staff trainning has improved since my last stay a year ago. The top roof Restaurant is very nice but overpriced. The restaurands menú is very limited. Room Service is OK.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Vanessa Acebo - Executive Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear Luis, Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to hear about your satisfaction and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again. Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SanJose, Costa Rica.

Smiooth. I did not have any inconveniente.

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Price is fare. It is not in downtoun Madrid but metro is a few ateps away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Vanessa Acebo - Executive Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear Luis, Thank you very much for choosing us and for sharing your feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the overall experience at the Puerta America Hotel. We hope to see you soon. Regards
3 out of 5
by David

Good hotel but make sure it's for you.

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
Reviews are to provide constructive criticism and for this hotel the look was impressive but the functionality was painful. I will start with areas of improvement and then discuss the positive. The bed was thin and hard unfortunately it is a long way from feeling the comfort of a nice relaxing sleep. Also the bathroom has very little useful counter space so just with two people it was hard to juggle items. The most important thing was getting into the tub in the bathroom was difficult at best and impossible if you are in any way not able to lift your legs up high. Getting in was easier than getting out which even for able bodied adults felt like you were at risk for falling. I'm 6'1 ft tall and my wife is 5'5 and it was hard for both of us but especially for her and we are both in our 30's. The design of the tub also provides no door so water would get everywhere in the bathroom especially on the small counter space and the floor around tub making it a fall hazard. Please be safe. Lastly the hotel internet was down for a good 24 hrs during our stay and being that Wi-Fi is an important communication tool with family and also to look up destinations within the city I was disappointed. Good elements of the hotel where it's views, the Skynight bar on 13th floor is superb even of you go during day. The hotel staff is very friendly and willing to help. Hotel felt modern and sleek. Lots to do around hotel especially if you want to enjoy the quaint tapas scene.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017
Dear David, Thank you very much for choosing us and for sharing your feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the overall experience at the Puerta America Hotel, we have read your comments and impressions regarding the safety of the bath on the 1st floor and we will give due consideration to your suggestions in order to improve our guest experience; a secure bar to help customer go in/out. We are aware that some of our designed spaces won't satisfy everybody's needs. But design is a big part of our personality. We are very sorry you didn't fell comfortable in all the areas of the room. I only wish we would have known how you were feeling while you were still at our hotel, so we could have reacted and perhaps offered you a different floor/design which you might have found more comfortable. Your suggestions make us improve so I thank you very much for always share them with us. Kind regards Vanessa Acebo - Executive Assistant
4 out of 5
by yaron

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was under constructions, so there was no real lobby. Nice rooftop bar. Room was relatively big and comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017
Dear Yaron, Thank you very much for choosing the Puerta América Hotel during your visit to Madrid, and for taking the time to post your review. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed a perfect stay with us! Kind Regards Vanessa Acebo - Executive Assistant
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A must see hotel for interior design lovers

Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was under renovations, so many amenities not available. Staff did provide great service and tried their best to make guest feel comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing us and for sharing your feedback. We would like to special thanks to you for your kind mention about our staff, we are glad to know that you have very much appreciated their work. Thank you for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon at Puerta América Hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Unfortunate stay

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Very disappointing stay. First of all the hotel was under immense construction which was not communicated to us when we booked and was at no stage passed on that it would be during our stay. Our room then flooded when I had a shower which meant we had to vacate the room for hours whilst it was cleaned up. Finally the courtesy bus to the airport was an hour late in getting us to the airport which meant a rush to make our flight. Would love to speak to someone about a refund but no email is available on the website.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by Vanessa Acebo - Executive Assistant, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Duck, First of all, I would like to thank you very much for having chosen Puerta America Hotel as “your home away from home” in Madrid. I would like to personally offer you my most sincere apologies for al the inconveniences and assure you this is absolutely not the way we usually do things. I will contact you directly to follow your case. Regards
4 out of 5
by David

Nice hotel, but a bit far from the action.

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Cool hip spot, but a bit out of the area of the city center. Beds were okay, people were nice, and the breakfast was great. I would have rather been closer to the action, but it is a nice place. It was maybe 10 euros into town so not that bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017
Dear David, Thank you very much for choosing us and for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your comments Thank you for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon at Puerta América Hotel Regards Vanessa Acebo - Executive Assistant
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Stacy

Fun hotel with quirky designs

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
The service staff were all very friendly and the hotel was certainly a unique experience with its differing design elements on each floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017
Dear Stacy, Thank you very much for choosing us and for sharing your feedback on Booking. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Silken Puerta América. Thank you for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future Kind regards Vanessa Acebo - Executive Assistant