Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great location

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Clean, efficient, friendly & helpful staff, great location
Cons: For what I required it was perfect.
Location: Nice bars & restaurants all around. You can get tickets for metro & bus for around €12 which lasts 10 journeys. Less than 10 mins to Madrid centre
This was my first trip abroad on my own, so there was a smidge of apprehension in every sense. I got a taxi straight from Madrid airport to the front door of Hotel Trafalgar which was €30. The driver explained beforehand (& there was a notice to confirm) trips from the airport into the city were €30 minimum. Considering you don't have to wait for the taxi, it takes you exactly where you need to be & (if you have the benefit of a driver you can communicate on some level with) you can find out about certain spots to visit the etc, I was OK with a €30 fare for a 15 minute journey. I walked into reception, checked in & had my key for my room within a few minutes, very swiftly done. Now I can only speak for what I required & what I had so bare that in mind depending on what your wanting from your hotel & how many of you there are. The room was small but as it was just me & it literally was a base to sleep, shower, get ready, repeat, it was perfect. The bed was very comfy, the room very clean & cosy & everything worked. You get free WIFI, iron to use if you need one, air con etc. There was no view from my room (room 47) but if I had raised that as a concern I'm sure the hotel would have helped if they had other rooms available as the staff were very nice. The staff on reception are very helpful & willing to assist if you ask about directions or the metro etc. I never tried the restaurant so can't comment on the food, but in general, the hotel was great
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended.

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
The Trafalgar is not fancy but is very clean, the furnishings look new, there are several places close by to eat and to shop, it is close to the stops for two different subway line which provide easy access to the rest of the city, and it is close to a very popular public gathering space. The staff were extremely helpful and even allowed my sister and her husband (who were staying elsewhere) to print out their boarding passes at no charge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017
Thank you very much for your comment, it helps us improve.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lax

Close to all the main attractions in Madrid.

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Font desk was very helpful,and answer all my questions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location and Price

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Orbitz
Very happy with my stay the rooms where very small but nice the location was very good to explore Madrid very happy
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
The room was a little small. I booked a single queen and got a two twins, which were small. A little disappointed to find hair in the bathtub, which wasn't ours.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable, pleasant staff.

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
There's not much going on within the hotel itself but it was a clean comfortable room only a short distance from the city center. If you're not up for a walk it's just around the corner from the metro which in a few quick stops will take you where the action is. I'd stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Anqi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very basic amenities and hotel but helpful staff.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: staff, location
Cons: nicer amenities
The staff was really helpful and I needed to be in that area but other than that not an ideal hotel. Decent for what you're paying though; paying for a clean and basic room and bed and bathroom.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient and clean

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
Great area close to shopping, metro stations and dining. The hotel was clean but rooms were small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, UK

Good value

Posted Dec 17, 2016
This hotel is conveniently located for Metro stations, being no more than a 10 minute easy walk from one of two that are nearby. Being a capital city, Madrid has lots of road traffic. However, unlike other capitals (e.g. Rome), pedestrians are considered a priority here with ample well-timed crossings and large pedestrianised spaces. This hotel is within easy walking distance of major tourist attractions. There is a small but modern lift and the overall decor of the hotel is clean and modern. The room was spacious, clean and properly serviced each day. My room opened out into a private balcony with a view of the main road below. There was plenty of natural light.The air-conditioning worked well although my stay was in December when the ambient temperature is comfortable anyway. The flat-panel TV worked fine. This showed terrestrial digital channels and included the one English-speaking channel, CNN. The bathroom was not pristine but it did not feel unclean. There was a bath with a shower and the adjustable shower head was on a flexible hose for ease of use. Hot water was always available though probably because of particularly variable relative hot and cold water pressure, my shower could go up/down in temperature very suddenly. Not a serious problem but not ideal either. Sound-proofing was acceptable although it's a fact of life that there will be selfish guests staying in the hotel who feel compelled to slam rather than close their door! Overall, a good hotel.