Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Charles MO

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: it is conveniently located
The bathtub wouldn't drain, the sheets on the rollaway had obviously been used and not even straightened out, and management as such wasn't much help. I tried to get the drain to work myself and my grandson changed the sheets on the bed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from from Maine

2 night stay, first night was hell

Posted Jul 21, 2016
My room was next to the indoor pool and the noise from the kids was unbearable. The toilet was broken and wouldn't flush. The Gal at the front desk said that because I booked online there was nothing she could do. The following day the Manager gave me a different room, which was much better, and he was very understanding .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Disappointed this time through

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: The one shining part of our stay was the breakfast.
Cons: The cleanliness of the pool area and the attention to detail and service from the staff.
We have stayed at this hotel several times over the years and unfortunately our most recent stay was probably our last. There was obvious water damage on the ceiling in the bathroom but that wasn't the biggest concern. The pool was beyond disgusting; the water was green and we couldn't see the bottom and it looked slimy. The Jacuzzi was also very dirty. We mentioned it to the shift manager whose only response was that he hadn't been down there lately. Finally, when I asked for a copy of my stay folio the general manager flippantly said that wasn't something he could provide since I didn't pay the hotel directly. We hadn't had issues in the past but the lack of concern or action shown by the staff have us rethinking this as our "go to" hotel when traveling across South Dakota.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Close to I-90

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Bugs in room. Swimming pool was gray in color (dirty) and hair in the pool. Breakfast was OK...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room ok.

Posted May 27, 2016
Clean room. Staff was not friendly nor were they unfriendly. Mainly indifferent. Breakfast room was messy and unattended. Out of most items 30 minutes before breakfast was over. Probably because the attendant has to work the breakfast room and the desk both.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Orbitz
A good place to stay. Rates are affordable. Staff is helpful. Will stay there again. Easy to get to from the freeway.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Dion, Hotel Management
On behalf of my staff, and I we appreciate your stay with us at The Howard Johnson in Oacoma. We look forward to having your business with us in the future. We thank you again.
4 out of 5
by Bonita from Oelrichs, South Dakota

Good Enough for Price

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
Floor was a bit dirty - maybe hadn't been cleaned for the last couple of guests. Otherwise - no complaints.
4 out of 5
by Michael from Kansas City, MO

Howard Johnson, Oacoma, SD

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient to highway; quiet; friendly staff. Excellent stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Everything I expected. I am a repeat customer. Great value
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
the front desk staff was nice. When our room got cleaned, they forgot to give us any towels to replace the ones they took. The breakfast was kind of bland and there wasn't a whole lot of variety. We got the suite with 3 queen beds and so the room size was nice but there wasn't a lot of outlets or a lot of counter top space.