Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Just 'ok'

Posted Aug 23, 2017
In comparison to other similar hotels we stayed in during our European travels, the lack of air conditioning was difficult during a hot spell in August. In addition, the wifi was terribly slow. Finally, we were told that the staff could help with some laundry by one front desk gentleman but then the next morning the woman at the desk indicated that it was up to the housemaids and they said 'no' ... so we had no clean clothes!
3 out of 5
by Cazenave

Disappointing

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Warm welcome. The room 125 was upfront great but: - air conditioning in the middle of the bed room? - water leak from the bathroom tube ending in the bedroom ground trough the wall in wood in between? - restaurant full - recommendation of outside restaurant ( former chief of Candee). honestly, it was very , very average.... - Breakfast just fair. Nobody there when we came in. Full 'help yourself' service and if you want anything don't even ask. - Asked for aspirine ( my wife sick) - Response: No- we can't have médecine... In general terms, the guys don't try to solve the customer problem but prefer to avoid to be accountable for it. Disappointing. We have been there few years ago and had a far more positive experience!
5 out of 5
by L J

Beautiful property

Posted May 25, 2017 on Hotels
A beautiful property tucked into woods for quiet peace. Staff was very helpful. The main restaurant, L'Orangerie, was closed early in the week but we had an excellent salmon dinner in the less formal dining room. Our room wasn't ready because we arrived early, but we were quickly shown to a spacious alternative that had a huge bath and even a tiny kitchen. Would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

comfortable and peaceful hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: comfortable bed, peace and quiet, charm of the buildings, good breakfast, swimming pool
The chateau is lovely with plenty of old world charm together with smart luxury. Very comfortable bed, quiet room. fabulous bath and a lovely pool. The hotel really is in a small world of its own, especially when you arrive via an industrial estate, but there is lovely countryside around it, together with their own vineyards to create a feeling of peace and tranquility. The gourmet meal was absolutely delicious, and we can recommend the chateau's viognier wine. Very helpful staff managed to cope with my limited French very graciously, although several spoke excellent English. For us this was a wonderful stopover on our way north, and we can certainly recommend it.
5 out of 5
by Michel from Montreal

Great style

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Nice location and great opportunity to spend a night in a small castle with great style.
5 out of 5
by Neil from Wiltshire

I'll be back!!

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, lovely setting, friendly staff, great breakfast. Really missed there not being a shower. Mattress was also too firm but would definitely return.
4 out of 5
by David from Steyning, West Sussex

Restaurant at Le Chateau de Candie

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
Dinner menu was lacking in choice and very overpriced and very small portions.Quality was very good. Breakfast was good but overpriced at Eu.22. We have paid between Eu.10 and Eu.15 for similar breakfasts.
2 out of 5
by Andrew from East Yorkshire

poor value, not a true 4 star level.

Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
For the price I paid it was not particularly good. I have to agree with the other posts with regard to classification, this in my view is not a 4 star hotel. We arrived late Sunday pm and had trouble locating anyone on reception, we were not advised until over an hour after arrival the restaurant was closed on Sunday which meant we had to make alternative arrangements at short notice and there were no staff apart from a trainee student who was not from the area so unable to give any advice. I would not stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Virgil from Ft LauderdaleYachtClub, Fl USA

Paradise!

Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
It was outstanding!!!
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey from Moscow, Idaho

Wonderful regional setting for a beautiful hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is beautiful as are the grounds. The pool was refreshing and fun. I strongly suggest getting breakfast included. It's 22 euro each and we didn't know it was that pricey beforehand. The breakfast was good but not worth that much extra. The neighboring towns are all pretty too. We had dinner on a local lake and it was great.