Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
49% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Murfreesboro, TN

Nice for 1-2 night stand

Posted Jun 12, 2015
The hotel is clean, not so small and quiet. TV is old (tube) and small. Price is good for what offers
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fl

Hotel had been sold, we had no reservations tho I

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: They should contact those who had reservations before canceling them and hanging us out to dry.
Location: There are thrift stores, a flea market, a Persian rug store and an antique metal work store nearby. It had beautiful old wrought iron gates outside.
I called to check on our reservations 2 days before and was assured everything was in order. They would not let me pay ahead of time when I asked to do so. You can imagine my chagrin when after driving 6 hrs we were told the hotel had been sold and we had no reservations. The clerk helpfully referred us to a nearby hotel which cost even less. Don't know if Expedia had any responsibility in this, but I have no plans to use them again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ga

Nice old hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2015
The room that my family stayed in was clean but there were small cockroaches coming out at night. Good hotel for a cheap price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from g

Georgia

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Office was closed at 9pm the premises was dark it looked dirty no one answers the phone
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Roaches!!!!!

Posted Feb 16, 2015
The hotel was infested with roaches even after they moved us to a new room. So we checked out early.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nc

Sucks

Posted Feb 8, 2015
This place was horrible. My toilet leaked and flooded the bathroom. Took 2 days to fix it. The staff in the office is horrible and rude.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Tori, Hotel Management
Dear Victor from NC, We apologize greatly and that is not the type of service we strive to provide to our guests. Providing excellent & professional service at the front desk is our goal, and we can assure you that we can address any services issues as that is very important to us. We will look into your concerns and share them with our department leaders to prevent future occurrence's.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from costa rica

Do yourself a favor, stay somewhere else!!

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Dirty beds, floors, everything, even found empty beer bottles next to the bed, did not feel safe at all!! Stayed the first night and I was out of there early next morning, just not worth it!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Tori, Hotel Management
Dear Michael From Costa Rica, We apologize that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. Our goal is to provide you with a comfortable and safe feeling upon arrival and when you leave. When any issues are brought to our attention, we do our best to rectify them fast, and realize the first impression is the most important. According to our records we did address your concerns and offered further accommodations. We appreciate your feedback and will work with our housekeeping team to make sure this is not an ongoing issue for a future guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Nice experience. Staff was friendly and helpful. Love the kitchen and full refrigerator.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Tori, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank You so much for your positive feedback, and we are excited to hear that our efficiency style set up worked well during your travels. We try hard to make sure you leave with a great five star experience at our extended stay hotel. We look forward to your future return with us!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel near ravinia mall

Posted Sep 2, 2014
The hotel is fine. The only real problem that I encountered was with the wifi, or the lack thereof. It worked off and on and there was no rhyme or reason to when it seem to work. You also needed to turn off the AC when you left during the day or it didn't cool the room at night, but that was no big deal since I was gone all day. Otherwise the hotel was perfect for my needs...somewhere quiet to sleep and an ability to fix food at a very reasonable cost over the course of a week.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by Tori, Hotel Management
Dear Verified Traveler, We appreciate your recent stay with us, and can assure you that we have been working on new upgrades to our WIFI system for easy guest usage. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay, and hope that you return with us in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

Nasty, local weekly rate hell hole.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Don't stay here, no housekeeping, no wifi (despite their claim). I never write reviews but I'm angry enough about this nasty place to do so. This is not a hotel, it is a half way house that people have lived in for years, paying by the week. Not a place for kids, or any kind of family activity. Every room reeks of cigarettes, the TVS are ancient (mine had a dial!!!) stove top didn't work, etc. Just a nasty place, period.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by Tori, Hotel Management
Dear Superintendent from K, We apologize that our hotel & amenities did not exceed your expectations. Our extended stay hotel caters to traveling guests who stay from day to day, and long term stays. We value all guest feedback with the upmost care & concern to always help improve our quality and services.