Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Location was excellent
Cons: Clear indication of air conditioning charges.
Location: Lovely bar overlooking the monument about 1 mile away with live music some nights. Bikers seem to congregate there.
A very nice stay . Comfortable room and a wonderful view. Unfortunately you needed to pay extra for air conditioning and book a different room, which was not indicated at time of booking and as it was 35degrees at the time of our stay this was an issue. Food in the restaurant was lovely. Our friends got charged for breakfast even though they did say on checking in that they did not require one. This was rectified after being pointed out by myself. A lovely cocktail to end the day .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

nice location on lake

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: The setting, the food. the service
Cons: in need of some updating in rooms
Location: only there 1 night
weather very good so a very pleasing experience, lovely setting - had dinner outside - lakeside very pleasant. Well signed posted off the A4 Decent menu nicely presented but more basic than we had previously experienced portions too large for ladies though so some of meal left just dietary necessity
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant and relaxing stay at the hotel.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Room, location, pool, lake, etc.
The room was comfortable. The location was ideal. We swam in the outdoor pool in the morning and laid in the sunshine at the lakeside afterward. I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Lawrence from Colchester England

A chance discovery we will certainly revisit

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
We stopped here for a coffee and then booked 4 nights on the strength of that experience. Excellent facilities and staff, ample parking, lovely setting, great location (very rural but close to Laon and other cities), great historical connections and somewhere we will most certainly return. Oh and Fantastic Value too.
5 out of 5
by marcus from sandown uk

hotel Location

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
An excellent hotel for either an en route stop or a few days relaxation. On the edge of a man made lake in the quiet countryside. Excellent restaurant for dinner, brilliant breakfast. Excellent facilities. Will definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by Douglas

Fabulous restaurant for dinner..

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel rooms could benefit from air-conditioning, but the quality of dinner and breakfast are exceptional.
4 out of 5
by Maxine from Bristol

I would book this hotel again

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
We were driving back to Calais from southern Italy and this was the last hotel we booked to give us most of the day off from driving. Nice hotel and and friendly staff, just a couple of hours from Calais. We were travelling with our 2 dogs and the room was large and comfortable. Having unpacked it was around 12.30pm but we didn't want lunch, we fancied coffee and cake but we could only get coffee in the bar. We returned from a walk around 2.10pm but room service is only available until 2pm or during the evening dinner period, so we had to get in the car and go to the supermarket on the way to Laon and buy a picnic. This was the only short coming. The food in the restaurant that evening was good and check out the next morning was very fast and efficient.
4 out of 5
by Fraser from Oswestry

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
This is a lovely hotel, clean and tidy with very attentive staff. As far as I could se all rooms have Lovely view of the lake. However the place is isolated, there is only one Bar within walking distance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

1 night stay on way to French Alps

Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
1 night stay on way to French Alps. Lovely spacious room overlooking lake. Very quiet and peaceful, lovely setting.