Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Cloud, MN

Good stop on our trip from Florida to Minnesota

Posted Jul 18, 2016
We stopped in to Sleep Inn on a road trip back to Minnesota from Florida and we had a nice stay. Updated rooms, friendly and courteous staff, and nice hotel. There was also a nice selection for breakfast. The bathroom could have been updated (one area that wasn't), but otherwise a nice resting point for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Staff was friendly and helpful. Good value for $. Mattress could be improved.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the wonderful scores that you gave us as well as the feedback regarding your concerns. We are diligently working to resolve all issues so that all of our guests can have a memorable stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

needs updating

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: good location, good price
Cons: carpet in room
Location: U of I
room had a funny smell, carpet very old...............
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2016 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review for your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. We are continually striving to improve in every area, and we hope that your next visit will show you a much better experience. Sincerely, Andrew Clarenson General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2016
It is ok to stay a night and it ha a good location.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2016 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to rate your recent stay with us. We appreciate the great scores, and the kind comments that you left, and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Andrew Clarenson General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: STAFF
Cons: 1ST FLOOR ROOMS
Location: LOCATION WAS CLOSE TO THE UNIVERSITY WHICH WE NEEDED
GOOD STAFF, NICE UPGRADEWHICH WAS BETTER THEN THE FIRST TIME WE WERE THERE
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2016 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate the wonderful scores that you left us. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our location, and we cannot wait to see you next time you are in town. Sincerely, Andrew Clarenson General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible costumer service

Posted Mar 8, 2016
GM had the audacity to quick me and my family out for having minors with us. They said that everyone staying in the hotel had to be 21+ which is ridiculous considering it's not a bar but a HOTEL and we had stayed here before with minors. Definitely not a place for families and not welcoming at all. The GM didn't care to hear us even though we were tired from traveling 4 hours and all we wanted was to sleep. Never stay here, you pay for a good service and get treated horribly by staff. I could even dare to say there was some racism involved. Never staying here.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2016 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. On behalf of myself, and my entire staff, we sincerely apologize for any concerns that you had, and that we did not meet your expectations. We are continually striving to improve to ensure that all of our guests have a wonderful experience, and we will certainly work diligently to reach that goal. I assure you that the comments that you left, is not who we are here. Again, we strive to provide each guest with a great experience. Sincerely, Andrew Clarenson General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2016
Our stay was fantastic but the only things that I had a problem with was there was only a shower in the room and that made it very hard to bath a 17 month old and the double beds in the room could only fit one adult comfortably. Other than that our stay was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2016 by Andrew, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your experience with us, and we certainly appreciate your feedback. Sincerely, Andrew Clarenson General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to sleep

Posted Jan 14, 2016
It is easy to get to from the highway. The room was comfortable, and quite. The breakfast wasn't big but had everything I needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay and our location was convenient. Thank you for you for choosing the Sleep Inn in Urbana! We hope to see you again! - Sleep Inn General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

I'd stay there again!

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: Good location, friendly staff, breakfast includes sausage, nice size room, quiet and comfortable.
Cons: Everything was fine.
Location: Champaign-Urbana is a small town so everything is within reasonable distance of the hotel especially the freeway and major thoroughfares.
Good location, friendly staff, breakfast includes sausage, nice size room, quiet and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2015 by General Manager - Sleep Inn, Hotel Management
Avon thank you for being our guest and for completing our survey. We were pleased that the hotel location was convenient for you and that our hot breakfast was another tasty value added amenity. Hope to see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice hotel for the price.

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Pros: Nice staff, clean room, nice pool
Cons: All was good.
Location: Close to Illinois University and many other places of interest. Close to those we wanted to visit. New "Field and Stream" and "Dick's" very close.
very helpful staff, nice clean room, nice pool, nice breakfast. Quiet place to stay. Enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2015 by Matt, Hotel Management
Very delighted to learn that your stay was an excellent one. Thank you for being our guest and for allowing us to serve you! General Manager - Sleep Inn