Ratings based on 956 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Very well maintained place. Good customer service, easy access to market and highway. I plan to stay here in future and would recommend others to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from spring, tx

Nice hotel that is near the mall & local shops.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Nice to have coffee waiting for you at arrival and whenever wanted.
Cons: Hotel is just fine. They try to accommodate you and pretty much have it covered.
Location: The location is among several hotels of the same rate. They are close and convenient to anything you might need. Target and Wal-mart are very close.
Staff friendly, room clean and breakfast adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Stayed Since Day 1

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Always clean, convenient, and affordable.
Cons: It looks like some modernization is already under way so not much to improve there. It'd be a plus to update the fitness machines.
Location: Nice area close to shopping and restaurants. Maybe a 10 minute drive to U of I campus.
We stumbled upon this hotel several years ago the day it first opened, and have made this our go to place for Champaign area ever since.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Angela Diep, Hotel Management
Hello there! You have no idea the smile your review put on my face. We appreciate loyal guests and from our Wingate family to yours- we would like to extend our appreciation. Our hotel has gone through some updates and will continue to do so as the year goes by (new and updated furniture is our next step). I will be sure to take note of the fitness center as we go through what needs to be done. As for our location- the restaurants nearby are absolutely a delight. I truly hope you get to enjoy our exciting town and hotel to the fullest extent. If you need anything at all during your next stay- we will be here for you! I'd love to say hi and say thank you in person on your next stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Nice hotel great location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Wingate in Champaign was very nice and clean. The rates were lower than some of the other hotels in the area. Nice and modern room and very clean. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The location is right inbetween Prospect Ave and Neil St which is where most of the shopping is. A lot of restaurants in that area as well. I recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Angela Diep, Hotel Management
We thank you for your recommendation! Our housekeeping / front desk does a fantastic job and has been improving every step of the way. I am glad to see it reflecting in our feedback from our guests. We also try to price so that it is affordable for families and companies alike. We see our guests as an extension of our family and we will do whatever we can do for them. As for the shopping location- it is to die for. Especially if one forgets literally anything during their trip. I'm glad to hear your feedback and if you are ever in the area again- we would love to see you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis

Clean, Safe, and beautiful!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: How clean and quiet it was.
Cons: I would lay an area rug near between the pool area and the carpeted hallway for safety.
Location: Meijer shopping center, grocery store, several restaurants, close to the highway.
The check-in process literally took 4 minutes, from beginning to end. The staff was super friendly. The hotel lobby clean and welcoming. The breakfast included waffle maker, eggs, good coffee, fresh fruit, cereal, and juice. Our room... incredible! Comfortable, clean, very spacious! The a/c unit was controlled by a wall controlled which I found very convenient. The only critique, the area from the pool to the hallway was not carpeted, which could lead to a fall when the floor is wet. Other than that, I would highly, and joyfully do, recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Angela Diep, Hotel Management
Hello! I saw your review as you were staying with us and I always look forward to seeing reviews as they progress. I have made sure to let the person in charge of orders to see what we can do carpet / rug wise for the pool area. We have a rug there currently but it may not always do the job so I will make it a priority to be fixed. As for your other comments I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Our breakfast is absolutely delicious and I personally eat it as well. I hope you got to enjoy a breakfast burrito day during your stay as they are the best. We will be even incorporating biscuits and gravy day soon so hopefully you may see that next time. As for our rooms- they are bigger than the average which allows for spacious living during any guests stay. We do this for our long term businessmen so it's not cramped and for families to be able to roam around free of confinement. I am thankful for you recommendation and hopefully we will see you as well in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place near places to eat.

Posted Jun 27, 2017
We were well pleased with the accommodations here. I would stay at this chain again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Clean, nice amenities,decently priced, friendly staff, and near everything
Cons: nothing
Location: Near wide variety of retail stores, food places, and major roads
Nice hotel near lots of different food and stores. Offered 5 star experience for a 2 star price!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Large king suite

Posted May 19, 2017
Location: We were just traveling through.
Room was clean. Tissue box empty and no extra toilet paper. Hotel carpets stained in several places. Room price a little high.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by Angela D., Hotel Management
Hello, I will be sure to let our housekeeping manager know about your problems and I just want to let you know that am sorry you had to encounter such things during your stay with us. As for the stains, we will have new carpet along with our renovations in June.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

in town and convenient.

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Good internet.
Cons: Everything but internet.
Interior of hotel was dirty. Front desk person was busy doing other things. Finally checked us in and room was not cleaned. We were checked in to another room which was very noisy. Breakfast was very minimum. I will not stay at a wingate. again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winthrop Harbor, IL

As always hope - is always good

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: It is consistently a fine property. The amenities and now knowing it is pet friendly is a plus. Location and property management is always on par.
Cons: Yes, since I've been staying for 2 years now - I can tell that your carpeting and walls/baseboard trim is showing wear. Bathrooms showing some attenti
Location: 100% here for the college and activities with our daughter. Great location for Target run, nice meal out, and a swimming pool as needed.
was a quick overnight trip visiting college girl. we like this hotel for location, cost/value and availability. There are no surprises, and the breakfast choices are consistent. We are not staying here for a luxury vacation, but a needed spot during U of I activities.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by Angela D., Hotel Management
Hello Madre! Glad to know you've stayed with us before and enjoyed it. On your next visit to campus we will have new carpeting and baseboards as we are renovating. Let us know what you think on your next stay! We're always happy to see familiar faces at our hotel.