Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect way to experience Chateau Life...

Posted May 6, 2017
Château des Briottières gives you a taste of chateau lifestyle. It is a peaceful world unto itself. You feel like the 'weekend' guest in a grand home.
5 out of 5
by Andy from Somerset

A magical stop over in a beautiful house.

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
A wonder. We stayed in the cabin the woods - we had our little children with us. We are always worried that having small children with us would restrict us, but the Count made them most welcome and cooked delicious crepes for the whilst we enjoyed an aperitif. As a magical stop over on the ay to the South we could not recommend it enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A one night stopover

Posted May 3, 2015
Lovely charming and very hospitable family hotel. Much closer to stay with a family than a hotel in terms of overall experience. The room was fantastic. Immensely relaxing. I would recommend and would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia, USA

How often do you get to stay in a chateau?

Posted Aug 26, 2014
The Chateau de Briottieres is located on a majestic estate, and represents the efforts of its owners to maintain a magnificent family home. Our experience at this location was positive in almost all ways. We were free to sit in the amazing salons, use the pool, exercise on the grounds and stroll in the garden. Our room was very small, but the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom facilities clean and adequate. We also had a stunning view of the front lawn, chapel, and pond. There was easy parking. There was no elevator, which made handling our oversized luggage a little difficult. We decided to have dinner at the chateau--a little pricey at 55 Euros each--but an excellent culinary experience. The food was delicious and elegantly served. The candlelight made for a magical evening. We did have a group of very ill-behaved adolescents--the fault of their parents, not the management's. Overall, we had a once-in-a-lifetime experience, and would definitely recommend this hotel to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, England

Beautiful chateau

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Location: Good base for ex[ploring the Loire Valley
We spent two nights at Chateau des Briottieres and it is a beautiful place. The owner is a very charmning man whose family have owned it for six generations - so it has a lot of history. It is extremely elegant but the owners have made it very comfortable and homely as well. I would thoroughly recommend this private hotel. The standard of the rooms was well above some of the commercial chateaux. The dining room is very elegant and although the menu is set, the home cooked style dishes are very good indeed and come as a surprise.
5 out of 5
by Cheateau Life from Tennessee

Fantastic Everything!

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels
This is an excellent place to stay. The owner runs the chateau himself and has been in his family for over 200 years. It is like staying in a museum with very old artwork and sculptures. The grounds are very well maintained. There is a magnificent pool and chapel on the grounds as well. I could not recommend a better place to stay in France.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay at a real Chateau

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful chateau, lovely gardens. The host upgraded our room, even though we didn't ask. Dinner was pricey, 55 euros.
1 out of 5
by Francophile from UK

History cannot be an excuse

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels
The Chateau is in a poor state and, with regret, does not meet the needs of the modern traveller. Extremely low lighting cannot conceal the paucity of the culinary offer, the lack of choice or, importantly, the inadequacy of basic standards in the rooms. No mirror in the bedroom, the lavatory is in the wardrobe - or the wardrobe is in the lavatory - but either way, it is so small as to involve the scraping of knees on the door and the knees are no more than 3 ft from the bed, albeit through a closed door; no hairdrier, lamps which did not work, no room to move in the tiniest of shower 'room', no ability for 2 people to move around the bed at the same time. So very many wonderful places to stay in the Loire - unfortunately, despite its wonderful history and location, this isn't one of them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Flash from NYC

Wonderful experience

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: You are not going to find many places like this to stay. It was warm, charming and beautiful.
Location: Just walking and relaxing on the grounds of the chateau is a great use of a half a day. But the surrounding area has plenty of places to visit as well
What a great place. We stayed at the Chateau for 2 nights, exploring only the very nearby area as well as relaxing on the beautiful grounds. And the grounds were just amazing, so picturesque and perfect to compliment the amazing Chateau. Our host was a true gentleman and so warm and welcoming in sharing his family home. We had dinner and breakfast there as well and it was such a happy choice. Just amazing and delicious. After spending some time in Paris this was such a wonderful compliment to our trip.
5 out of 5
by enrico from Pistoia

Vacanza in anjou

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Vacanza per scoprire l 'anjou