Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from adelaide, south australia

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Breakfast was a great mix of Western and Thai food. The bed was very comfortable, and the air conditioning worked great. The pool was beautiful. Everything about our stay here for 3 nights was excellent; would definitely recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Bussara Masadon/Assistant Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review after staying at Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel. We are truly delighted to read how comfortable you felt staying at our accommodation by rated us of 5 stars. We will pass your kind comments onto our staff. Kind Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel by the river

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff. Very good breakfast. The room was very clean and they offered unlimited amounts of bottled water.
Cons: The mattress was very hard but this was rectified by the staff adding another one. The water in the shower was either too hot or too cold.
Location: Good location by the river. Out of the centre of Chian Mai but close enough to easily get to the centre.
We had a very good stay at the Aruntara. Its a lovely hotel with a spa. I would highly recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Bussara Masadon/Assistant Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your stay at Aruntara, we appreciate your comments and feedback. We are glad to hear that the location was suitable for your visit to Chiang Mai We are sorry to read that you found the beds to be slightly harder than expected and the inconvenience of the water in the shower. We take all guest comments into consideration, and will evaluate this aspect of our room design. Thanks again for your feedback. Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, Ca

Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2017
This hotel was offering a special for a few nites stay. The hotel was as advertised, clean friendly place to stay with a charming look out of the river for breakfast. This is my first time to a botique hotel and it was a great experience. I would book this hotel again when visiting Ching Mai.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Noi-Assistant Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review after staying at Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel. We are truly delighted to read how comfortable you felt staying at our accommodation by rated us of 5 stars. We will pass your kind comments onto our staff. Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
by Keerti

Satisfied Customer

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed in the Deluxe room. It's a very nice small hotel nestled in a quiet part of the river. The view is peaceful and the hotel is clean. The staff were always friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great, they had all the essentials and Thai cuisine. Didn't have a chance to try lunch or dinner but the menu looked good. Van service to the market street was at 7 PM but was only one way so you have to grab a taxi or tuk tuk to come back. Bikes were free to rent if you wanted to visit somewhere nearby. Shower was hot, bathtub was a little small. Nothing really interesting on TV but I don't think anyone goes to Chiang Mai to just watch TV. The restaurant is located at the back of the hotel and the only way to access it is to walk through the middle which has no covering so grab an umbrella at the lobby doorway in case it rains. The pool is tucked in the corner and is somewhat private. Awesome friendly service, great price, definitely would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
Dear Mr. Keerti, Thank you for taking the time to post a review after staying at Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel. We are truly delighted to read how comfortable you felt staying at our accommodation, and it's especially great to read that our service & friendly staff contributed to an enjoyable stay for you here in Chiang Mai. We will pass your kind comments onto our staff. Kind Regards, Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review after staying at Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel. We are truly delighted to read how comfortable you felt staying at our accommodation by rated us of 5 stars. We will pass your kind comments onto our staff. Kind Regards, Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review after staying at Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel. We are truly delighted to read how comfortable you felt staying at our accommodation by rated us of 5 stars. We will pass your kind comments onto our staff. Kind Regards, Aruntara Riverside Boutique Hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Beautiful but terrible service and location!

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: The decor was beautiful.
Cons: The service.
Location: This river view is a dud. And the distance is pretty far to the main square and if we had to do it over again would have stayed somewhere closer.
Everything is beautiful here from a distance. But after staying there, I see how up close there can be a lot of issues. Our room's hot water wasn't working and it took 3 days for them to believe we were just idiots who couldn't wait 5 mins for it to get hot. It wasn't that the water didn't work that bothered us so much, but that they wouldn't listen to us every day when we complained. I felt like I had to get really angry in order for anyone to take us seriously and that really sucked. Eventually we changed rooms in time for one last actually hot shower but it soured the experience for us. Once we did switch rooms, I was told in person they would switch us to a suite with a river view for the inconvenience but when I came back with my husband we had been switched into another regular room instead and then the person I had spoken to was gone and they didn't offer an explanation of what had happened. At this point we were too tired to continue to try to argue for something we didn't care much about after several days of asking for hot water so we gave up. We were in our honeymoon and it was very frustrating to be here. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone, especially a couple. The spa prices are way too expensive and even with a discount they are not worth it. The food for breakfast is fine but nothing special. And be wary of rain here because there is no way to get from the rooms to the restaurant without getting wet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not great

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Beds were very hard and uncomfortable. Breakfast food was sub par. Location was not great. If you like overlooking a mud river it offered that.
4 out of 5
by Nova from Vancouver

Aruntara - an oasis in a crazy city

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
Great thai style hotel with lovely big rooms and a great riverside location. Feels like an oasis in a big city. Breakfast served by the river is very scenic. It's a tut tut to get to old town, so location could be a bit more central but it's a quick taxi.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
This is a small boutique hotel with lots of good things, however, not for us. Breakfast was let down.