Ratings based on 642 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing stay!

Posted Sep 11, 2017
The Empress made our stay in Chiang Mai a lovely experience. The staff was very courteous and the welcome gift was unexpected. The pool was large and nice to swim in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Short walk to night bazaar

Posted Aug 20, 2017
I loved that The Empress has the old charm and feel of Chiang Mai. Located blocks from the night bazaar and surrounded by lots of shops, restaurants, massage parlors and tourist attractions. Staff went out of the way to remember all guest. Always greeted with a smile. We were offered a spacious room with mountain views, breakfast included. Fresh fruit awaited us each morning. At night beautiful flowers were left for "A goodnights sleep". Reservation service downstairs for tours were very affordable and always willing to help and answer any questions you may have. Also exchanged currency for us for best rates. Very nice outdoor pool, fitness center and fast wifi. I would definitely recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good hotel with wonderful staff

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Hotel located 100 meters in a soi so it offers calm and quietness. The staff from front desk to cafe are friendly, cheerful and helpful. Hotel and room albeit dated, are clean and amenities are functional. Shuttle buses at fixed schedules bring guests to major malls. Had a wonderful dinner on the house with free flow of beverages of any type but was told it applies to long staying guests of 5 nights or more. With its reasonable rates and warm staff, I'd recommend it to travelers looking for value for money vacations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose california

A gorgeous hidden gem!

Posted Jul 31, 2017
The Empress is a classic , timeless hotel! We stayed there for 9 nights and we had a fantastic time ! Its location is closed to everything ( waroros market, night market , laundry , massage stores, restaurants) . All the staffs are working diligently hard to please all travelers from all over the world ! The breakfast buffet is decent with a variety menu to serve both the Westerners and the Asians . The tour desk inside the lobby offers great tours with compatible pricing and great service! We had an encounter with a street Tuktuk driver who seems anti all tourists. We took his badge number (#849)and reported the incident to the management team at the Empress. A special thanks to Richard and Kai who went above and beyond their duties to assist me in filing a complaint to the tourist police department.They made us feel at ease and safe ! They are truly the Empress 's warriors who would serve and protect all travelers who stay st the hotel! All in all, we love the Empress and we definitely will be back !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver, colorado

Great hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2017
I really enjoyed staying at the empress hotel. The staff was friendly and very helpful also iut was in a pretty good location close to the bazaar ands night market. It was also pretty choose to the old city with lots of shopping and food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Excellent

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Loved it, would definitely recommend to everyone. Would definitely go back again :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

service quality excellent

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: service quality
Cons: no
Location: location good with good massage facility nearby
experience excellent service quality clean room and welcome gifts
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi

Welcoming, well-situated hotel.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: The reception desk and restaurant staff were very welcoming and attentive. The extra touches such as the gift bags and fruit plate were thoughtful.
Cons: The threadbare towels need renewing and the toiletries could be of a higher quality. Otherwise, the hotel is very good value for money.
Location: The hotel is conveniently located for those wishing to visit the Night Bazaar, Tapae Gate and the old city.
We spent 3 weeks in the Empress Hotel, using it as our base to explore Chiang Mai. Although we had not stayed there before we were not disappointed. We were upgraded on arrival and received a number of "extras" that helped to make us feel welcome. The room was bright and clean, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom clean and well-maintained. Guests can also avail themselves of a free hourly shuttle bus that picks up at the Empress and other hotels and drops you off at the Airport Plaza. The only drawback ( as with so many Asian hotels) is the virtual absence of sound insulation between floors and rooms. However, we were moved to a quieter room without any fuss when we couldn't sleep properly for 2 nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth W.A.

Great hotel easy access to everything

Posted Jul 6, 2017
From the moment I arrived in Chaing mai airport I was welcomed by the courtesy bus driver with a big smile. Short trip to hotel where I was greeted by welcoming staff who were genuinely pleased to greet and help me settle in for my stay. A quick sign in and I was shown to my room. The room was spacous and clean. Good size towels nice and thick. And well stocked fridge. The buffet breakfast has lots of options, my favourite the omlettes the best. Followed by fresh seasonal fruit. I booked a couple of activities through the activity guide in the lobby, who was knowledgeable of the city. Overall I really enjoyed my stay and would stay here again and again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Hotel has everything you need

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: The location is perfect, walking distance to the night market and night clubs
Location: There are a lot of restaurants and clubs within walking distance and plenty of tuk tuks outside the front door ready to take you anywhere in the city.
This is a very nice hotel with a restaurant, bar, travel agent and decent speed free wifi.