Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Kalman

Exceptional Stay

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed at the Amora for two weeks on a business trip. Staff were warm and friendly, with senior staff going out of their way to make my stay exceptional. I was upgraded on arrival to a deluxe room on the 11th floor. The room was spacious, the bed and bedding just right. The daily breakfast offers a wide variety of Asian and Western cuisine, with an egg station to order. A few negatives included spotty WiFi, especially at night, no sugar substitute and a few English speaking channels. Some of the staff have limited English skills, reflecting a common problem in Thailand. The hotel boasts an in-house spa and massage, with a dedicated tour desk. Overall, this is a very nice leave. I look forward returning to Chiang Mai and again staying at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Nice hotel close to downtown!

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Walking distance to everything.
Cons: Air conditioning was old, and it didn't work for a few hours, but the management sent someone to fix it.
Location: Walking distance to restaurants, and Thai boxing arena, and Tapae Gate. The night market is about 15-20 mins walk.
This was a perfect hotel for our 3 day stay in Chiang Mai. Rates was very reasonable, and price included breakfast buffet. We requested 2 rooms, and they accommodated our request for adjoining rooms. The hotel was within walking distance to the main attractions, restaurants, Thai boxing arena, and the night market. The only problem we encountered was the old airconditioning system in the room, which didn't cool when we got there. However management sent a repairman immediately, so the problem was short-lived. When we return to Chiang Mai, we will surely stay at Amora again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia/Chiang Mai

Pleasant middle of the road Chiang Mai hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff attitude which is down to management
Location: Locacation allows good access to all Chiang Mai has to offer
Having stayed here before room renovations I have to say renovations are a major improvement. What hasn't improved is the attitude of the staff. They smile and give right answers but don't follow up. Point in question: I noticed that my Expedia booking showed double bed instead of two twins. Contacted hotel but could not get any help from reservations(they said they could not find my booking). Went into hotel 10 days before stay, and ended up being assured that requested change had been made. Checked in, given room with double bed! They were able to change, but I suspect only because of low occupancy. If you get a good price, this is a hotel in good location, with fair service and conditions, but good management could make it so much better.
4 out of 5
by Min

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from O

Great place, helpful staff

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Loved the location, close to downtown, shopping, many restaurants, and airport. Helpful staff. No iron available for room. Nice buffet breakfast included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Nice hotel in Chaing Mai

Posted Jun 26, 2017
This hotel was perfect for the two nights we stayed in Chaing Mai, close proximity to nightlife was an appreciated benefit
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice for Short Stay

Posted May 22, 2017
Room was large, shower had plenty of hot water. Restaurant was nice and breakfast was good. Internet in room was nice and worked fairly well. But it rained the first night and water leaked through the wall socket on the table where I had put my computer. Next morning my computer was full of water, I took my computer to Computer Plaza to see if it could be repaired; no it was ruined. I asked hotel to help me with something for the loss and they refused to help with any replacement or repair cost.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, experience!

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Location, clean, friendly and great amenities
Cons: Beds are very firm, but typical for Asia
Location: Just inside the west (Tapae) gate of the old city, you can walk to lots of shopping and restaurants with ease. The location is amazing.
Amora Hotel is in a perfect location for shopping night markets and trying out amazing restaurants and cafes. The room was clean and tastefully furnished. We'll be going go back again!
1 out of 5
by Jeff

Where s the Management-Service

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is in Great Location..Internet VERY bad,needed for work, had truly disappointing in fact out right Ignorant-dismissive response. Trying to speak to General Manager Impossible..after 6 requests. Real shame..Hotel room very nice,very comfortable, breakfast buffet top notch...staff in dining area really good. Clear issue with hotel..no leadership..Front desk dismissive,rude. Attention to detail missing in cleaning and customer care. Would be a great place to stay with change in Management and refresher course on SERVICE..definite shame.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel in good location

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Lastminute
We enjoyed our stay very much, excellent service, hotel is in a great location, close to the park for walking, good eating areas close by and the Sunday markets just across the street.