Ratings based on 294 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Lee

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic Location
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017
Dear Mr. Lee , Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share your positive feedback during your recent stay. I am delighted to know that all of our food provided and service delivery from our hotel staff met with your satisfaction. Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back again on your next trip to Chiangmai. Best warm regards, Jareeporn Resident Manager
4 out of 5
by Lexa

Great location in Chiang Mai

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
The room itself was great - clean, modern, and nice shower. The downsides were that the wifi didn't work (seemed like it was very poor wifi throughout the hotel from hearing other guests ask the front desk about it as well) and the laundry service was ridiculously expensive. The breakfast buffet was pretty good as well and amazing location - very close to the night markets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017
Dear Lexa, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. It was a great pleasure to discover that your overall stay experience with us was a positive one. Your compliments our location and facilities are highly appreciated. However, we apologize for the inconvenience caused by the WIFI . Sorry agian for incovenience . Best warm regards, Jareeporn M. Resident Manager
4 out of 5
by Richard

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
A great base to explore Chiang Mai. Pretty basic but clean, quiet and comfortable. If you want luxury and pampering forget it, but if you want somewhere cheap and comfortable to use as a base then it wont disappoint.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017
Dear Mr.Richard , Thank you for your kind and positive review and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am of course very pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and appreciated the room and the restauraunt. And So sorry inconvinience for WIFI ,we will improve it. I will be sure to share your comments with the team here at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back again to The Small Hotel Chiangmai. Best warm regards, Jareeporn M. Resident Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Nice hotel with location, staff and breakfast

Posted Jun 18, 2017
Walking distance to old city and night bazaar. Staff very friendly and helpful, delicious breakfast! Room are clean and comfort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2017 by Aey, Hotel Management
Dear Ms.Shine, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share your positive feedback during your recent stay. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and satisfied with hotel facilities, cleanliness and service delivery from our staff. Thank you once again for sharing your experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Best warm regards, Jareeporn M. Mrs. Resident Manager
2 out of 5
by Tony

Disappointed

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was centrally located and therefore handy but thats where it ends for me, internet was useless, bed, pillows, and linen well overdue for a change. No where to hang or put your cloths.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
Dear Mr.Tony, Thank you for taking time of your review. I was delighted to read that after some initial issues with the internet was useless, It is disappointing to know you were not satisfied. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements internet and facilities our hotel. Best warm regards, Jareeporn M. Resident Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel great location.

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Location and price, also breakfasts.
Cons: Roof leaks need repair.
Location: Great location, walking distance to night bazaar, walled city, Ping river and Warowat market.
First room was above busy street, traffic noise kept me awake. Roof leaked large puddle of water next to bed that I stepped in. Moved to another room that was quiet and comfortable but shower would not adjust temp. Hot or cold were the only choices. I have stayed here several times and will probably return because of location and price. Breakfast is good and the dining staff are really nice. The concierge, Micky, is very helpful.
4 out of 5
by WAN NOR MASHITA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Sol

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
Chiang Mai is absolutely lovely. The hotel is close enough to the old town and exceptionally close to the nightlife as well, but far enough for peace and quite
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island Canada

It felt like home!

Posted May 1, 2017
First time to Chiang Mai I booked the room online and was very happy when I arrived. I did some travelling and booked more nights there each time I returned to the city. It is clean and well maintained. The staff are incredible; very friendly and helpful. The small pool on the third floor is a great escape from the buzz of the city and the bathroom comes with all toiletries you will need. I did not eat at the reataraunt as there is a fridge in the room so I made my own breakfast. Laundry is a little pricy; use one the local places nearby. Great location; in the heart of downtown.
4 out of 5
by colin

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
ok stay internet very slow tv needs a upgrade breakfast also need looking at basic