Ratings based on 325 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mumbai

Excellent value of money hotel with great service

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Service, rooms, pool, etc
Location: Many restaurants are there nearby, most of the sightseeing places are around 3-5 kms from the hotel.
We visited this superb family hotel during our month long trip to Thailand. This nice budget hotel (less than 1000 baht per night) had 3 star hotel like amenities - It had big rooms , nice big bathroom, and they also provided kettle, oven, fridge etc inside the rooms. They have a very clean pool with carpet flooring, very safe of children. They have a nice collection of books as well. Overall it was the best hotel for the price we paid during our entire trip. Kudos to Mr. Boom and his team for their excellent service. It is going to be this apartment hotel whenever we visit Chiang Mai...Highly recommend this hotel to all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Mr. Boom, Hotel Management
Dear Chanak, Thank you for your review. We really appriciate your feedback. We will distribute your feedback to all of our departments. We will maintain the quality of service and room. We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future. Please enjoy the rest of your journey. Best Regards, The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mumbai

Excellent value of money hotel with great service

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Service, rooms, pool, etc
Location: Many restaurants are there nearby, most of the sightseeing places are around 3-5 kms from the hotel.
We visited this superb family hotel during our month long trip to Thailand. This nice budget hotel (less than 1000 baht per night) had 3 star hotel like amenities - It had big rooms , nice big bathroom, and they also provided kettle, oven, fridge etc inside the rooms. They have a very clean pool with carpet flooring, very safe of children. They have a nice collection of books as well. Overall it was the best hotel for the price we paid during our entire trip. Kudos to Mr. Boom and his team for their excellent service. It is going to be this apartment hotel whenever we visit Chiang Mai...Highly recommend this hotel to all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Mr. Boom, Hotel Management
Dear Chanak, Thank you for your review. We really appriciate your feedback. We will maintain the quality of service and room. We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future. Please enjoy the rest of your journey. Best Regards, Mr. Boom The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good front disk - very low house keeping

Posted Jul 10, 2017
The house keeping even lasybto change the plastic in the trash cans . What you expect more from them . The two guys at the front disk are helpful.it have been overrated 2 -3 stars only
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Mr. Boom, Hotel Management
Dear Sam, Thank you for your review. We are really happy to recieve the valuable feedback from you. We will improve this point. We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future. Please enjoy the rest of your journey. Best Regards, The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel
4 out of 5
by Tsung-Lung

Amazing staff

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was just amazing. They were so helpful from airport pick up to anything you asked them to do. They will call places for you and give you places to go to. I really give 5 stars to their service. The room and facilities are OK for the price I paid. The gym is really not a gym. It is hard for me to describe it but you won't want to use it. I have been to Thailand many times and realize that they don't give you shower gel or shampoo or bring your own kit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Boom, Hotel Management
Dear Tsung-Lung, Thank you for your review. We are really happy to get the feedback from you. We will take all your advice into our consideration and improve. However, we DO provide shower gel and shampoo in every room. We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future. Please enjoy the rest of your journey. Best Regards, Mr. Boom The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel
5 out of 5
by Kirstie

Can't recommend highly enough

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Can't mate this place highly enough. The staff were easily the best I have experienced. So helpful and friendly and I was sad to leave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Boom, Hotel Management
Dear Kirstie, Thank you for your review. We are really appriciated your feedback. We will keep on improving the quality of the rooms and services. We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future. Best Regards, Mr. Boom The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel
4 out of 5
by Christopher

Awesome hotel with great staff and clean rooms!

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
This was a great hotel, it offers a very homey experience. No fault of the hotel or the local area, but be sure to bring copious amounts of mosquito repellent. To the Hotels credit, they offered us free mosquito repellent upon arrival at the front desk, but wasn't nearly enough for our whole family through the evening and following day. The breakfast was awesome, the room was very clean and spacious, and The staff was phenomenal. Big thumbs up to this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017 by Boom, Hotel Management
Dear Christopher, Thank you for your review. We are really happy to recieve your feedback. Your feedback is really valuable to us. We will keep on maintaing the quality of service and rooms and trying to improve the downfall. We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future. Please enjoy the rest of your journey. Best Regards, Mr. Boom The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
We initially were given the room on the bottom floor by the pool. I checked the room and bed/sheets etc (I thing I always do) and found that the bed sheets didn't look like they were changed. There were stains and hair on the sheets and it looked like someone just sprayed the sheets with some fragrance. I politely requested a room change and they said there was one available room on the 3rd floor. When we checked that room it was so much nicer and the sheets were crisp and clean! I'm not sure what happened with the first room, maybe housekeeping was in a hurry??? Other than that our stay at the Opium was great! Staff were nice and attentive... always willing to help. The pool seemed popular although we didn't get a chance to use it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valuable guest, Thank you for your review. We are really happy to hear from you. We are glad knowing that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We will take all your advice into our consideration and improve. We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future. Please enjoy the rest of your journey. Best Regards, Mr. Boom The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Quiet and friendly

Posted Feb 8, 2017
My girlfriend and I stayed at the Opium for 2 weeks and wished we could have stayed longer. The staff went above and beyond to be friendly and helpful. They helped with Moped hire, the best trips to take and any other advice we needed. The hotel was quiet, clean and relaxing. It's out of the main tourist area which we loved and we frequently ate at all the little street food stalls in the area. We would 100% visit again if we go back to that area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2017 by Mr. Boom, Hotel Management
Dear Valuable guest, Thank you for your review. We are really happo to recieve your feedback. We will keep on maintaining the quality of our room and service. We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future. Best Regards, The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kl

Inconvenient to town n pool dirty

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Shd provide shuttle to town n toiletries, allow guests to use complimentary service to/fro to airport, limited breakfast menu, ran out of maps. Staff were very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by Mr. Boom, Hotel Management
Dear Lee, Thank you for your review. We are really happy to receive your feedback. We will take all your advice into our consideration and improve. We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future. Please enjoy the rest of your trip. Best Regards, The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Quiet & Cosy. Great Value.

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Wotif
Location: Location a little out of the main city area but only 10 mins away by Tuk Tuk
A very comfortable & quiet accomodation. Rooms are spacious & large. A little out of the main drag but transport is within reach & cheap.WIFI ok. Breakfast not a wide selection but decent. Staff are helpful especially "Boom" who has been absolutely great. Overall very decent & clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by Mr. Boom, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Thank you for your review. We are really happy hearing that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again in the future. Please enjoy the rest of your journey. Best Regards, The Opium Serviced Apartment & Hotel