Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location fir Balos.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: The hotel is the last before the track down to Balos. 7km drive and then the 2km walk down to the lagoon. ( remember its uphill coming back- you will need water!) Hotel pool good and small beach directly accessible. Breakfast good but not cheap. All rooms seem to have a coastal view. Studio adequately equipped unless you intend to cook big meals. In all, a great spot with efficient staff.
Cons: You may find yourself VERY close to the pool which might suit you. Check fir your preference.
Location: Amazing Balos beach walk and the village a couple of Kim's away had great restaurant with decent, if a little tailored to tourists, Greek food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Great views .

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Nice views, great staff! It's worth the stay and there is a restaurant a km away that has some good views whiles enjoying a great Greek feast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
It was a nice hotel - However we booked a sea-view apartment and were looking forward to a patio/balcony with a nice view over the water - but instead we had the elevator in front of us and the patio was open to the walk-way & dining area. The patio doors didn't open so we didn't really have a way to keep a fresh breeze with open windows during the night. It was disappointing and not very relaxing or private at all. However, there are plenty of rooms there that seem like they would have a nice view, privacy, and a nice balcony. The room was clean - the kitchenette is a portable unit that had all the basic utensils you might need - but the range takes a long time to heat up. Bathroom was clean but a little outdated/old, in contrast to a lot of the other modern decor at the hotel. The pool is nice and clean, it is right by the beach. Restaurant was ok, but I probably would stick to drinks there next time. We had the dinner buffet (not the breakfast), and it was fine. There are some fish tavernas nearby, and I think that we might have found a fresh, authentic meal there. The seating and the view at the restaurant were very nice - comfortable, clean, and overlooking the sea. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The wifi was ok when it was working, but it went on and off so it wasn't very reliable. The grounds were pleasant - clean and lots of plants and flowers. I would stay there again if I was guaranteed a better room location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, England

Superb location. Great staff.

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: The staff were brilliant. Friendly, accommodating and answered all our questions and requests with a smile.
Cons: Cooking facilities in the room were too basic. eg a kettle and frying pan and bottle opener/corkscrew should be included. We got these on request.
Location: Great pool, private beach and lovely village ( Kaliviani) . We found Balos Beach too crowded, windy and the access track very rough for a small car
A unique hotel on the island. Quiet location despite being on the track to the very popular Balos Beach. Excellent pool and downstairs rooms open out onto the path to the private beach below.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Exceeded our expectations and much more!

Posted Jun 30, 2016
I want to start off by saying this was me and my wife's first visit to Greece and it was a great experience. It was me and my wife's 1 year anniversary so I wanted to make it special so I requested one red rose, a small cake and a card and was not dissapointed. Not only did they get all my requests right they even threw in a bottle of wine even though we didn't drink it we greatly appreciated it. The service was excellent the rooms were cleaned every day and the maids even made little figures out of the towels my favorite was the elephants my wife loved it. The view is astounding for the price it was a no brainer to choose this hotel. The staff is very friendly even the maids said hello with a smile daily. The location is great it is a 45 minute drive to Balos Beach Lagoon its further than expected because the roads are well awful all dirt and we didn't want to damage the rental car. The 2nd time we visited Balos lagoon we went by boat it was awesome! The hotel has a small beach right in the front with beach chairs and umbrellas the water was freezing but it was ok to lay out. They have a nice pool but only used it once since is a beautiful ocean right in front of us. The area is very quiet with a cute village nearby with 3 great restaurants. The rooms are spacious and bright with beautiful color the room has a large fridge which came in handy. It felt so great to relax on the balcony drinking a beer and enjoying the view I already miss it! The hotel offers breakfast and
4 out of 5
by Gian Marco

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

A place to unwind and relax.

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: The peace and quiet. The friendliness of the staff and the ease of getting to the hotel. The balcony with ocean view was a definite highlight.
Cons: This is not a chain hotel like a Marriott. When we asked for anything they were accomodating and helpful.
Location: Balos lagoon and plenty of beaches. Wonderful area to stay at and drive through the little towns.
We stayed here for 12 days and loved it. This is a family owned and run hotel/restaurant. We had a kitchenette, bathroom, room and a balcony looking out onto the ocean. The room and common areas are not fancy but super convenient and well maintained. It was 30 minutes from Chania airport and the closest hotel to a phenomenal beach the Balos lagoon. Mrs. Anna would recommended good places to see every day and can set you up with tours. We got a rental car and glad we did since the hotel was central to all the other sites we wanted to visit, but you need to drive to get to everything you want to go to - 10 minutes to Kissomos and everything else is 1/2 hour to 2 hours away. Without leaving the property in the main building is a great little restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Beautiful clean hotel seaview room excellent.

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Minimalist modern decor of rooms.Friendly reception staff.
Cons: Items to keep teenagers occupied in the evenings eg table tennis /pool table etc
The staff we encountered extremely helpful & friendly.Our stay here would have held good memories but unfortunately after checking out & locking our room after leaving we realised we had left phone charger adapter & cables behind. We sent 2 e mails no response.We rang and was told nothing was found,we all 3 know for sure exactly where they were left plugged in it was my sons job to gather electricals and he knew instantly we got to the next accommadation he had not unplugged the items.The hotel was quiet low season and obviously managers are aware who cleans the rooms after guests vacate so unless our items did a magic vanishing act someone took them.It proved very inconvenient during the rest of our trip and left a sour taste of our stay at Balos Beach Hotel
5 out of 5
by Tomas from Helsingborg

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent, except the restaurant.