Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: staff are amazing, very friendly and helpful.
the hotel is amazing and the staff is great, the pool is very nice so about the kids pool, rooms are very clean, i have really enjoyed my staying there and i do recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Giannoulis Hotels & Resorts, Hotel Management
Dear Rasha, Thank you so much for your lovely review and for all of your compliments. We are glad to learn that you had such a pleasant stay here with us. Finally we would like to thank you for the recommendation of our resort to other travelers and to inform you that we are already looking forward to seeing you again in the near future. Best regards, The management.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton AB

Downward spiral

Posted Oct 27, 2015
The resort itself is quite nice. The rooms are clean and very well maintained it seemed as though the towels where replaced and the beds made right after we finished using them. The majority of the staff where very kind and helpful. The real drawback for us was the "all-inclusive" package, and the quality of the food. We realized very quickly that it wasn't as all inclusive as we where used to in the Caribbean. We got a very limited selection of drinks and couldn't have anything with fresh fruit. This was a major problem since I'm diabetic and can't drink any of the sugary juices. All I had wanted was gin, and soda water with a squeeze of fresh lime which I was told was not possible with our package. Our next experience was of the dinner buffet. It was a decent buffet selection but nothing was really of exceptional quality. Everything tasted processed to some degree and it wasn't overly appetizing. Between the buffet and the drinks we decided to upgrade to the Ultra all inclusive so that I could get my squeeze of lime and so that we could eat at the ala'carte restaurants for lunch and supper. With the ultra our suppers were significantly better however still very underwhelming especially our last night (Sunday) when everything tasted like it was left overs from the night before (I had asked for rare veal, it came out well-done and refrigerator cold). We tried the lunch once and stuck with the buffet after that since the food was basically the same. Overall quite disappointed
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2015 by Giannoulis Hotels & Resorts, Hotel Management
Dear mbpaul1987, Thank you very much for your preference shown in our Resort and for taking time to share you experience of your stay. Firstly, we would like to thank you for all of your kind words about our available facilities and for our staff. We are really sad to learn that our all inclusive program does not meet your needs since you have specially requires. However, detailed descriptions of all of our available board basis programs are available on our official website in order to avoid any misunderstandings. Taking the advantage, we would like to inform that gluten free menus, lactose free and diabetic menus are available at our resort. Finally, regarding your comments about our served dishes, the management and the staff of our resort are already informed about in order to proceed with all the necessary moves. Thank you very much once again for your feedback, and we are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future. Best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice for a quiet break

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Great food. Great for a short and quiet stay. Would not recommend for a week or longer as would get boring.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2015 by Giannoulis Hotels & Resorts, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking time to review us and for your contribution. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards The management.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cheshire, UK

Fabulous resort!

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: It was so peaceful and we spent most of our time in and out of our sharing pool - bliss!
Cons: We felt the main restaurant and the Italian restaurant were fabulous but the Sea Line Beach Tavern could do with some work.
Location: It was very quite, which was great for us but maybe not for those looking for some nightlife. Chania is a must and Falasarna Beach was great.
My Wife, Daughter and I had a wonderful week at the Cavo Spada and will DEFINITELY return. We were 'all-inclusive' and stayed in a deluxe double room with a sharing pool which was fabulous. The food was superb, as were the facilities and we would be happy to recommend it to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2015 by Giannoulis Hotels & Resorts, Hotel Management
Dear Graham, Thank you very much for your kind words and for all of your compliments!It was our pleasure to welcoming you and your family at our hotel and we are already looking forward to your next arrival which you are already planning. Best regards, The management.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, England

Cavo Spada is a real treat

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: it was in a lovely relaxed setting and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
Cons: Making Wifi available throughout the hotel would be good! not just in reception..The decor and furniture in this area was a little dated!
Location: Off the beaten track but there are good taxi and buses. Local car hire was also great value. 30 mins from Chania and also beaches at Kissamos.
The whole family had a fantastic relaxing holiday here. The rooms are around a large central pool with either great views to the sea or the mountains. The beach, although pebbly, is great for relaxing and a friendly waiter from the pool bar will keep you well hydrated. The sea was very calm and clear for the majority of our stay so was great for cooling off in. The all inclusive buffet restaurant was ideal, with plenty of choice to suit all tastes. The variety and quality cannot be faulted. What was most impressive though was the quality and friendliness of the staff in all departments. Antonius a do his team in the restaurant work long hours but always are happy to help and make you feel most welcome. Terri and Poppi in the bar do great work and are polite and happy. The rooms were kept clean and tidy by a very industrious group of maids. My wife loved the spa and can recommend the hot stone massage. The city of Chania is only 30 mins away by bus or taxi and is well worth a visit, the old harbour and the Saturday market were great. The local beaches are also worth exploring. If any one wants to try Scuba Diving the team at Blue Adventure in Chania were very professional and welcoming. The whole hotel is managed to a very high standard yet allows its customers to be relaxed and informal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2015 by Giannoulis Hotels & Resorts, Hotel Management
Dear Jeremy. Thank you so much for your lovely review and for taking time to share your experience of your stay at our resort. We are very proud about we managed to provide to you and to your family a pleasant and memorable stay, as this is the first priority of the operation of our resort. The management and the staff team of our resort wish you all the best and they are looking forward to welcoming you and your family again in the near future. Best regards, The management.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Quiet, relaxing, close to the beach, laid back

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Staff are extremely helpful. Rooms were very clean. Location is a dream (if a little isolated). Very efficient staff Restaurant food was exquisite
Cons: Monitoring the temperatures of the buffet stations. The food is cooked fresh however it chills fast. That is my only real negative.
Location: Beach is a stones throw away, literally. Hire a car, brace for the breath taking views of olive groves, valleys, mountains, villages, orange groves!!
I stayed in room 131, a room with the "private" pool. It was an amazing experience. The staff turned the rooms down sometimes 3 times a day which was impressive. The location was a little out of the way but that just added to the brilliance of everything. I was a bit let down by not having the bed I wanted, yet the staff did their best to accommodate. The breakfast is plentiful, however get their early, everything is cooked fresh but as it is a buffet it cools pretty quickly. The hotel waiting staff work very hard to make your stay comfortable and the managers were more than willing to roll their sleeves up and get stuck in if they could. This place will be a 5 star hotel soon but at the moment it's the very small things that have them at a 4.5. Minor repair issues around wooden decking, patchwork on paint repairs, spelling errors on paperwork and menu's (i know its finicky but its the really small things that set the excellent aside). Would I go back, gladly. Top tips 1: learn a few phrases in Greek, the staff will appreciate it. 2. The private pool rooms don't have a direct sea view, but the beach is so close it doesn't matter even slightly. 3. Beach shoes are a must as the pebbles take some getting used to in flip flops. The Cavo Spada is a place where you can get away, be completely rejuvenated in privacy and solitude, or you can get involved in any of the many listed activities they have on offer and meet some great people. I loved this place. Thank you to all the team.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2015 by Giannoulis Hotels & Resorts, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience of your stay at our resort and for all of your kind words! As we can understand, you had a pleasant stay and that is the best award for the management and the staf of our resort. Finally we would like to notice that the management and the staff are already informed about all of your comments. It will be our pleasure for us to welcoming you again in the near future as you are already planning. Thank you very much once more. Best regards, The management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

7 days of pure relaxation and enjoyment.

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: 'Low key' architecture makes for a relaxing feel to the resort. All the staff gave excellent service and care about what they do.
Cons: The proximity of toilets in relation to the restaurants. Sound proofing within the service corridors. Interior improvements around the indoor pool.
We experienced an 'ultra inclusive' package which really does encompass the best in food and drink the hotel has to offer. This was our honeymoon so we were treated very well and appreciated the excellent and very personable service provided by all the staff. It is a place which delivers an atmosphere of calm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2015 by Giannoulis Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear Maid and Loin, Thank you very much for your review and for all of your kind words about our service, our staff, our served dishes and generally about the atmosphere of our resort. It was our honor that you have chosen our resort for your honeymoon and we will be very happy if you celebrate all of your upcoming anniversaries with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Best regards, The management.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Excellent hotel - relaxing stay

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: We liked the standard of the hotel, the room with sea views and large pool. We were also impressed by the 'all inclusive' food, drink and service.
Cons: In our opinion - very little - although a jetty for those wishing to swim from the pebble beach would be useful as many struggled to get in and out.
Location: The hotel is within 45mins drive of the Airport situated about 12kms from Platanias and 2km from the small village of Kolymbari. A car is recommended.
Our stay at Cavo Spada was very relaxing and enjoyable. The resort is approximately 45 mins away from the airport by car. The hotel is beautifully furnished and decorated. The staff were friendly and attentive. The food was excellent and more than we could have wished for in terms of the value of our all inclusive deal. A hire car is recommended if you want to get out and about as the hotel is a little way from the nearest village - 2kms and some of the attractions of Crete and it may make sense to do this on arrival rather than pay for taxis/transfers to and from the hotel. We would highly recommend a stay at Cavo Spada for couple and young families looking for somewhere friendly relatively quiet and relaxing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2015 by Giannoulis Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, Thank you so much for your lovely review and for all of your kind words. As you already mention the location of our resort is the ideal for peaceful and relaxing holidays as long as it is very close to the most known beaches of Chania area. The management and the staff of our resort wish you all the best and they are looking forward to welcoming you again. Best regards, The management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex, England

Lovely hotel!

Posted Sep 28, 2014
We had a lovely stay at this hotel. The location is perfect as its near a town but you feel relaxed and 'away from it all." The pool is amazing and the staff are lovely. The buffet food is always great and a good variety each day. The only 3 small things the hotel could do to improve is 1.the WIFI is slow and very poor and you are only given 48 hours for your duration of your stay 2. we chose the seaview room which was lovely but someone has started to build two buildings which obscure the sea view, this are ugly eyesore as the buildings are just two blocks of concrete. 3. The food was never hot it was always luke warm and their 'warm plates' were never actually warm so the food went cold quickly. I would definitely stay at this hotel again especially if the hotel looks at the above three suggestions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2015 by Giannoulis Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear smithy, Thank you very much for your lovely review, for all of you kind words and for your suggestion. The opinion of our guests is very important to us in order to upgrade our services to the highest level. Regarding the WIFI, we are happy to confirm that it has already been improved and upgraded. Moreover, the management and the staff are already informed about all of your suggestions in order to do all the necessary moves. We are really happy to read that you will visit us again, and we are looking forward to your next arrival. Best regards, The management.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chatt TN

Nice hotel, BEAUTIFUL POOL in Western Crete

Posted Sep 7, 2014
My wife and I are celebrating our 25th Anniversary with a 17 day multi island tour of Greece. It was very important to me to select hotels that would help make the "dream of what we thought Greece might be" come true. Cavo Spada did JUST THAT. From the moment we arrived the staff were attentive, courteous and eager to assist us in every way possible that would make our stay memorable. Our room was nice, clean and had a semi-private pool only a few feet out our back door. The main pool was one of the largest I've ever seem. The water was crystal clear and beautifully maintained. All the pool lounge chairs are in a grassy area that separates the pool from the beach so you have very easy access to whichever you are in the mood to enjoy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2015 by Giannoulis Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear Dan, Thank you very much for your amazing review. It was our honor to choosing our resort to celebrate your 25th wedding anniversary. We are really happy to ready that your stay at our resort helps to make your "dream of what we thought Greece might be" come true. The satisfaction of our guests is the first priority of the operation of our resort. The management and all the members of our staff wish to you and your wife all the best and we are looking forward to celebrate all of your upcoming anniversaries together. Best regards, The management.