Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: beds. make it softer
Location: excellent location. very quite.
excellent view. very quite place to stay. staff is very attentive and responsive for anything. breakfast was awesome.
3 out of 5
by Kenneth from Chile

Great view, not so great room

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
The room was on the fifth floor. It was only accesible via staircase from the fourth floor. Once on the fifth floor, you have to go through a large balcony/patio to get to the top two rooms. The view is amazing from there. At night it is windy, though, and the lighting is not good. I went in spring and the room was very cold. There was no heater, and no extra blankets. The bathroom seemed improvised, and the shower was horrible: small, no curtain, no pressure, and lukewarm water. The staff was not very helpful at reception, not giving many tips on sightseeing or local adventures. The best thing is its location. It is at a perfect distance from everything. (20min walk to the bus station).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: The hotel is located in Old Town, close to shopping and the harbour. Comfortable accommodation. The staff were great.
Cons: The breakfast was a well presented. However, it would have been nice to have a little variety and some fresh whole fruit.
The hotel was great to stay in. It is clean and well maintained. Would book again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Very good location and facility quality

Posted Oct 15, 2015
The staff were helpful and well mannered. The location and price were great. The breakfast was a joy.
4 out of 5
by Aurelia from London / Bari

Solo traveller

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
I spent 4 nights in this hotel as a base to visit surrounding places in Western Crete and felt really comfortable and well located, on the quiet and charming side of the Old Town yet very close to everything and literally 10 min walk from the central station, not even 5 to the port and sea front through a maze of enchanting narrow alleyways. In fact, it was not easy to find this hotel, although once you do, you realize it is actually pretty straightforward.......!!!! Service was good, friendly and welcoming, breakfast rich, room and bathroom basic, but clean and with character. I did get a room with an amazing roof terrace, which I did not want to leave!! Also, if you do not have a car, ask at reception to see what's on offer re organised tours to Gramvousa-Balos, Samaria Gorge, etc if you are after no-brainers.
4 out of 5
by Richard from r.b. calif.

good location

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable hotel in a central location very near port and it's many restaurants. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were of adequate size and air conditioner,toilet and shower all functioned properly. On a walk street with much character,outdoor dining and shops. Would recommend to others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Okay hotel in old part of Chania

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Breakfast good though limited. Good AC and water pressure. No good beach near hotel. Chania it self sucks. TOO MANY PEOPLE . If you like Times Square on New Years, go to Chania.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Sheffield, UK

Basic hotel in a great location

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Above all, the location; then the price; and the helpfulness of the staff.
Cons: I suspect that this hotel is about as good as it can get for the price.
Location: Within two minutes' stroll of the harbour and the old town, in which there are *innumerable* bars, restaurants, shops, etc.
I spent a week at the El Greco on my own in June 2015. The room (106) was quite small but was OK for 1 - it would probably feel crowded for a two people. The room window faces onto a wall so there is not much light into it, but this also means that there is no direct sunlight hence the room did not get too hot. The air-con is quite basic but effective enough - the room never got cold, but I was able to sleep, etc. The bathroom was quite cramped, but everything in it worked well enough. (But note that the shower area is very small and larger-sized people will find it difficult.) The breakfasts were basic but were OK for me - I only eat small basic breakfasts anyway. The facilities in this hotel are very limited - there are the rooms, the breakfast room, a small lobby area with a few seats and the lobby, which is staffed 24 hours. There is no general air-conditioning. This all sounds like I'm being negative, but I'm not. There are significant pluses:- it is inexpensive, and above all it is well-sited - just a couple of minutes' stroll down to Chania harbour front or into the Old Town. The building itself is old and characterful. The staff were friendly and helpful when I needed to ask them for something. They all spoke good english. The room was perfectly clean. Towels were replaced a couple of times during the week, the bedding wasn't. To summarise, it's a budget hotel in a great location which delivers on what it promises.
5 out of 5
by philip from sherbourn dorset uk

happy days

Posted Jun 15, 2015 on Hotels
IT was greet the staff was so freindly and helpful.we will stay again.
4 out of 5
by Roumiana from Sofia

1-night stay

Posted Apr 3, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff, good local and continental breakfast.