Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS

Overall good hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Pros: Close to downtown
Cons: Better showers
Location: Bars, food
Hotel was in alright shape. Wasn't expecting a 5 * or something epic at this price. Location is great since you're right next to most bars.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Experiencia que deseo NO volver a repetir

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Lamentablemente, mi experiencia en Kydonia no ha sido positiva, y eso que he llegado a estar allí. Me explico: Tras haber avisado repetidamente por correo de que íbamos a llegar a medianoche, tuvimos que llamar por teléfono para que el dueño se diera por fin por enterado. Al llegar allí, sin apenas saludarnos y sin darnos ninguna explicación, nos llevó a otro alojamiento, en el que acabamos en una habitación que en nada se parecía a lo que habíamos reservado. Ante nuestra incredulidad, exigió cobrar en mano toda la estancia. En caso de no hacerlo, exigía retener uno de nuestros documentos de identidad. Cansados y bastante indignados, pagamos y decidimos no buscar otro alojamiento de madrugada. De hecho, solo tengo buenas palabras para el alojamiento al que nos llevó, Pla Rooms. Al día siguiente, y bastante avergonzada de cómo habíamos sido tratados, la encargada nos trasladó a una habitación mejor y nos facilitó la estancia. Lo dicho, no puedo opinar sobre Kydonia, porque no llegué ni a pasarlo. Si no tenía habitaciones, que no nos las hubiese reservado.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Room for us, despite Expedia confirmation

Posted Aug 4, 2015
I booked a room for a one-night stay at Kydonia at about midnight--when we decided to make the trip to Chania in the morning--for later on that day. We received Expedia's confirmation email, indicating that our reservation was confirmed and that there was no need to follow-up. Despite that email, I did try to call the Kydonia # that Expedia listed, but the call went to a fax machine. Once we got to Kydonia, we were told by a very unfriendly man at reception that there weren't any rooms. He refused to look at my email confirmation and left in a rush telling us to wait in the sweltering reception area. During the 15-minutes we waited, we called a nearby hotel to check if they had a room and the owner came within minutes to offer us her one available room. Unfriendly guy at Kydonia did finally return saying he'd take us "to a friend's place" for ten more Euro that my original reservation! Not once did he apologize for Kydonia's mistake, so needless to say, we didn't do business with this guy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bra läge, väldigt nära hamnen i Chania.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: läget, rent rum fräscht badrum AC
Cons: Lower the prices! Sänk priserna sätt i kylskåp i varje rum!!!
Location: Sola, bada, en bra biljett/turistbyrå uppe på stora gatan, skaffa biljetter till olika turer med buss, exv Knossos, ( 29Euro)
Ensamresande, handlat mycket kryddor och olivtvålar, bra matställen i närheten, allt! är i närheten, du bor mitt i smeten, men är inte speciellt störd av ljud ändå
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Göteborg

Klaustrofobiskt för 100€

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Som familj 2vx 2 barn var läget mitt på Halidon bra. Rummet vi fick (#5 för 100€!) var dock pyttelitet. Fanns inte plats att vika upp resväskorna. Det var dessutom väldigt mörkt med ett litet fönster. Hade funkat om man var 22 och ville festa. Vi hade bokat 3 nätter men stod bara ut i en. Var dock inga problem att avboka och bara betala för natten vi bodde där. Parkeringen är en öppen bakgård och inte specifik för hotellet; alltså inga garantier att få plats. Wifi:n var stark och bra. Det finns bättre och billigare boenden nära den venetianska hamnen, t.ex. Villa Venetia som vi bodde på i två nätter för 60€/natt.
4 out of 5
by KLa from Victoria, BC

Off season stay

Posted Mar 12, 2014
We booked Kydonia because of the cheap price as we are backpacking, and as with most greek accommodations in March they were doing renos so the place was a bit of a mess. Our room however was all ready and a decent size, with private bathroom. The owner spoke english fairly well and was friebdly enough. There was a small tv with cable-we could watch english speaking shows, they usually play them later in the evening. Mini fridge worked and the bathroom was acceptable for a budget place. The double bed was tilted from the top right corner slanting down towards the bottom left, made for interesting sleeping positions but overall it was a decent place for a cheap price. The location is spectacular, 10seconds from the venetian harbour and on a main touristy street, plus there is a starbucks right next/below (the rooms are second floor). There are 2 small sets of stairs and one is narrow and steep so not recommended for those with accessibility issues, but if the price is decent and location is important go for it.
4 out of 5
by KLa from Victoria, BC

Off season stay

Posted Mar 12, 2014
We booked Kydonia because of the cheap price as we are backpacking, and as with most greek accommodations in March they were doing renos so the place was a bit of a mess. Our room however was all ready and a decent size, with private bathroom. The owner spoke english fairly well and was friebdly enough. There was a small tv with cable-we could watch english speaking shows, they usually play them later in the evening. Mini fridge worked and the bathroom was acceptable for a budget place. The double bed was tilted from the top right corner slanting down towards the bottom left, made for interesting sleeping positions but overall it was a decent place for a cheap price. The location is spectacular, 10seconds from the venetian harbour and on a main touristy street, plus there is a starbucks right next/below (the rooms are second floor). There are 2 small sets of stairs and one is narrow and steep so not recommended for those with accessibility issues, but if the price is decent and location is important go for it.
1 out of 5
by YANNIS

aie aie aie !

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: rien
Cons: Make it a decent guest house with decent size and equipment for all the rooms ... even the biggest I visited was ridiculously organised and furnished!
The only positive noticeable thing I can say : the owner of this guesthouse accepted me to leave the next morning to look for a decent room in tonw without difficulties ... Le seul point positif de cet hotelier, c'est qu'il n'a pas fait de difficulté quand je lui ai annoncé que je quitterai sa "guest house" dès le lendemain matin ... pour chercher une chambre décente ailleurs en ville
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California, USA

Perfect for a one night stay.

Posted Aug 14, 2013
Pros: Very old building, loved the history the owner gave us of the building and area. You'll love it if you have an appreciation for old architecture.
Cons: No sofa, but then again we did go there to hang around in a room all day.
Location: Right in the center of the shopping square, Starbucks around the corner and many restraunts.
Down the street from bus station, no need to get a cab in walking distance. Great view, prime location in the middle of the shopping square. Felt safe, the owner was always there and looked out for us two traveling girls. The beds were a bit hard but we didn't go there to sleep all day and hang out in a room! Perfect for a one night stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A good budget pension

Posted Sep 1, 2012
Location: Excellent central location.
Cheap & cheerful. Just right for travelers on a budget.