Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Ami

Great place

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location. Lovely breakfast. Nice service. The restaurants in the square are great - not touristy and lots of locals.
5 out of 5
by Ana

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel beautiful in the middle of old town with great restaurants and nightlife.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Craftsmanship throughout this gen of a hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Lovely lovely staff made our short stay here so nice. Set in a beautiful section of the old town perfectly picturesque. Comfortable beds, nice linens and design details make this hotel a special destination
5 out of 5
by Rachel

Great hotel in a walkable location

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic staff and hotel. Very welcoming and helpful!
5 out of 5
by Michael

Long happy vacation

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
All the staff were super helpful in booking future plans & handling unexpected changes in travel plans. Maria was as good as any professional travel agent we have work with. And Lea went out of her way to package up a little bite to eat for breakfast for an extremely early flight out of Chania. If I were to return to Chania I wouldn't hesitate in staying there again.
5 out of 5
by Gary

Lovely boutique hotel in a perfect location

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Great little hotel right in the centre of the old town finished to a high standard. Comfortable, quiet with friendly, helpful staff. Lovely breakfast and free Wi-Fi.
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Made so much more comfortable when we were supplied with the kettle we requested, so that we could make a morning coffee as there were no breakfasts available during our stay. Otherwise excellent in every aspect!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Maria M, Hotel Management
Dear Elizabeth, Thank you so much for your visit . Our priority is always to help and make our guest comfortable with the means that we have. Until we meet again take care.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston,ON, Canada

Wonderful place to stay in the old town

Posted Feb 17, 2017
This hotel was beautifully appointed- warm, clean and a welcome surprise for our visit to Chainia in February! We loved the location so close to everything in the old town!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Maria Manager Ionas hotel, Hotel Management
Greetings Vicki and Ted, Thank you also for your choice to visit us. We will be happy to see you for your next holidays.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
the room first they gave to me is at the corner of ground floor. It is very small (definitely don't have 30-sq-meter which they write on the booking website) and no wifi signal at all. I ask to change the room. The old man at the reception desk rejected and denied all the problem the room had.the most rude hotel staff i ever meet! After while I contact Maria. She is very nice and I change the room to the first floor the second day. The room condition is much better while the AC still working load. I have to turn off the AC when I am sleeping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We like to have all our guest opinions because give us the oportunity to improve the services that we offer. Something that we do not like and we are strike about that is giving misleading Information either by us or be our guests. The day you arrived there were really bad weather contitions and that caused problems on our Internet connection. You asked us to change you room because the Internet was not working in your room and we informed you that this a problem because of the weather in the whole building and we also were fully booked, so other room available. You did not believe us so since we were not able to solve this problem at the same day we proposed you to help you find another hotel close by and fully refund from us. You did not accept that solution, so we offered you the alternative to upgrate you for Free the next day to a Junior Suite but informed that the Internet problem will not have been solved yet. Us we understand and from this review, your problem was that you were not happy with your room choice and internet problem was just an excuse. In our webpage and on hotels.com mentiones that there are different room types with different sizes and style Clearly. We would like to point out that there was a problem, we tried our best to assist you, in other ways since this could not be solved immediatly, but you were so nervus, did not listen to our proposals, shouting, causing problems to other guests, that no matter what we did you will still be unsatisfied.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Loved our stay at ionas, staff were so helpful. Charming place to stay for our week in chania :-)