Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Craftsmanship throughout this gen of a hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Lovely lovely staff made our short stay here so nice. Set in a beautiful section of the old town perfectly picturesque. Comfortable beds, nice linens and design details make this hotel a special destination
5 out of 5
by Michael

Long happy vacation

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
All the staff were super helpful in booking future plans & handling unexpected changes in travel plans. Maria was as good as any professional travel agent we have work with. And Lea went out of her way to package up a little bite to eat for breakfast for an extremely early flight out of Chania. If I were to return to Chania I wouldn't hesitate in staying there again.
5 out of 5
by Gary

Lovely boutique hotel in a perfect location

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Great little hotel right in the centre of the old town finished to a high standard. Comfortable, quiet with friendly, helpful staff. Lovely breakfast and free Wi-Fi.
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Made so much more comfortable when we were supplied with the kettle we requested, so that we could make a morning coffee as there were no breakfasts available during our stay. Otherwise excellent in every aspect!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by Maria M, Hotel Management
Dear Elizabeth, Thank you so much for your visit . Our priority is always to help and make our guest comfortable with the means that we have. Until we meet again take care.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston,ON, Canada

Wonderful place to stay in the old town

Posted Feb 17, 2017
This hotel was beautifully appointed- warm, clean and a welcome surprise for our visit to Chainia in February! We loved the location so close to everything in the old town!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Maria Manager Ionas hotel, Hotel Management
Greetings Vicki and Ted, Thank you also for your choice to visit us. We will be happy to see you for your next holidays.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
the room first they gave to me is at the corner of ground floor. It is very small (definitely don't have 30-sq-meter which they write on the booking website) and no wifi signal at all. I ask to change the room. The old man at the reception desk rejected and denied all the problem the room had.the most rude hotel staff i ever meet! After while I contact Maria. She is very nice and I change the room to the first floor the second day. The room condition is much better while the AC still working load. I have to turn off the AC when I am sleeping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We like to have all our guest opinions because give us the oportunity to improve the services that we offer. Something that we do not like and we are strike about that is giving misleading Information either by us or be our guests. The day you arrived there were really bad weather contitions and that caused problems on our Internet connection. You asked us to change you room because the Internet was not working in your room and we informed you that this a problem because of the weather in the whole building and we also were fully booked, so other room available. You did not believe us so since we were not able to solve this problem at the same day we proposed you to help you find another hotel close by and fully refund from us. You did not accept that solution, so we offered you the alternative to upgrate you for Free the next day to a Junior Suite but informed that the Internet problem will not have been solved yet. Us we understand and from this review, your problem was that you were not happy with your room choice and internet problem was just an excuse. In our webpage and on hotels.com mentiones that there are different room types with different sizes and style Clearly. We would like to point out that there was a problem, we tried our best to assist you, in other ways since this could not be solved immediatly, but you were so nervus, did not listen to our proposals, shouting, causing problems to other guests, that no matter what we did you will still be unsatisfied.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Loved our stay at ionas, staff were so helpful. Charming place to stay for our week in chania :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel with friendly staff - no negatives

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Room was lovely - clean, bright, nicely decorated, really comfortable and spacious. Mattress firm, great if you prefer that as I do. We had the suite for 3 people for just 2 of us as that was the only room available. Good value even for 2. Staff really friendly and helpful. Bathroom included a brilliant jacuzzi. Breakfast was nice - continental style. Cute little roof terrace.
Cons: No complaints. I would've liked a kettle in the room but no big deal all things considered. No sea views but that wouldn't stop me from staying again at all.
Location: In the old town so very pretty. Quiet pedestrian-only street. Few mins walk to harbour & busier part of old town. 1-2 mins walk from great restaurants
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by M.M., Hotel Management
Dear Lucy, Thank you for your detailed review. We are pleased to see that you had a nice time here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very overpriced, avoid ground floor!

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
This isn't a boutique hotel, more of an average guest house at hotel price. We booked the "discounted" ground floor room, which was a large mistake - the air con was so loud that we couldn't sleep, literally like a plane at take off, even with earplugs. There were lots of mozzies around in the bushes outside and no mosquito net. Outside played loud music from 11pm to 3pm, which made it even more impossible to sleep before our early flight. The room design was very odd, with no table/desk or opportunity to sit, and not even anywhere to hang our towels. We could barely move around as two slim ladies with small backpacks! When using the shower, we flooded the entire bathroom without a chance of draining (and we're used to open/Asian style bathrooms). The toilet was leaking water onto the floor when flushing, too. Check in was a bit odd, the hotel pressured us by email to tell them the exact time of our arrival, but when we arrived (exactly on time), nobody was there and we had to call them. The member of staff that arrived new nothing of our arrival and asked us to pay, even though we pre-paid. Still, the hotel is in a beautiful corner of the city within easy walk of the bus station and harbour, so I assume rooms upstairs are much better. The lady in charge was so kind to leave us a small breakfast in our room for our early departure, so I can see there seems to be a lot of foresight and attention to detail here, we just seemed to have been unlucky.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

The best boutique hotel in Greece

Posted Sep 17, 2016
My daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is tucked away in one of the charming alleys in Old Chania. Quiet and serene. We loved our stay. Maria, who works the front desk, is a beautiful soul where nothing is too much trouble. She is so welcoming and kind, you become instant friends. The room we had was on the ground floor with doors that opened out into a little courtyard for us to take our breakfast. Leah, who serves breakfast each morning is so friendly and easy to talk to. A beautiful soul. The breakfast menu is simple - Greek yoghurt, seasonal fruits, breads, meats and cheeses or bruschetta freshly made each morning. We so enjoyed our stay and highly recommend the Ionas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by M.M., Hotel Management
Dear Catherine, Thank you for sharing your experience. We were pleased to have you here and we hope to visit us again soon and exchange more recipes