Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome location on the main street in old town

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Perfect location in Old Town Chania right by the harbour. Very nice owner. Cash only. Room wasn't that clean, but fine for the price. Would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Stephane

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Stephane from South Lancaster

kydonia

Posted Mar 11, 2016 on Hotels
Smack in the center
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS

Overall good hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Pros: Close to downtown
Cons: Better showers
Location: Bars, food
Hotel was in alright shape. Wasn't expecting a 5 * or something epic at this price. Location is great since you're right next to most bars.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Room for us, despite Expedia confirmation

Posted Aug 4, 2015
I booked a room for a one-night stay at Kydonia at about midnight--when we decided to make the trip to Chania in the morning--for later on that day. We received Expedia's confirmation email, indicating that our reservation was confirmed and that there was no need to follow-up. Despite that email, I did try to call the Kydonia # that Expedia listed, but the call went to a fax machine. Once we got to Kydonia, we were told by a very unfriendly man at reception that there weren't any rooms. He refused to look at my email confirmation and left in a rush telling us to wait in the sweltering reception area. During the 15-minutes we waited, we called a nearby hotel to check if they had a room and the owner came within minutes to offer us her one available room. Unfriendly guy at Kydonia did finally return saying he'd take us "to a friend's place" for ten more Euro that my original reservation! Not once did he apologize for Kydonia's mistake, so needless to say, we didn't do business with this guy.
4 out of 5
by Jeanne from Santa Cruz CA

Funky Charming Rooms close to Venetian Port

Posted Mar 18, 2015 on Hotels
Ask for the loft room(s?) with balcony facing the street. A bit louder but worth it! Really funky nice place super close to Venetian Port. Nice owner who lives there, and speaks good English
4 out of 5
by Jeanne from Aptos, CA

Funky and Charming Pension close to Venetian Port

Posted Mar 18, 2015 on Hotels
Great off-season rate, right in the old city, close to Venetian Port. Ask for loft rooms, with super high ceiling and balcony facing street. Owner speaks great English, and is helpful. Standard free WiFi, good towels, and useable mini kitchenette.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old Chania location

Posted Jul 5, 2014 on Hotels
This is a "tired" hotel right down in Old Chania. We stayed one night in the large room for four with the kitchenette and 2 nights in the smaller double room. The kitchenette is not fully equipped. It did have a refrigerator, couple of burners, sink, a few dishes and cookware. The smaller double room only had a refrigerator, no kitchenette as advertised. The towels were threadbare and were supplied only once. No daily maid service. Shower sprays water all over the bathroom floor. The beds are hard with only loose sheets. The manager is on site 24/7, watches comings and goings, and is helpful but businesslike. I had to pay cash for my room. No safe in room, but a key for the door. Neighborhood is noisy from tourists, but I slept well due to being exhausted from traveling. It has old world charm and could be fixed up to be so much nicer. Felt safe, walked everywhere.