Ratings based on 658 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Conveniently located near UNC School of Public Health and Sciences Library. Accommodations were quiet, comfortable and the staff was helpful and polite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice, very consistent

Posted Aug 6, 2017
"Homey" for a luxury hotel. Stayed multiple times; always consistent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing The Carolina Inn! We welcome you to visit any time! See you soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming in every way!

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Love this place. Friendly, helpful staff. Clean, lovely accommodations. Gorgeous tub and bathroom. Restaurant good but inconsistent with quality day to day. Walking distance to Franklin street shops and restaurants. Wish they had a pool, very hot and humid when I was there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Karen , Hotel Management
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. I agree that bathrooms are gorgeous and they can let you escape those hot summer days!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent choice

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Really welcoming hotel. Excellent location. Great experience for visiting UNC.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Karen , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us while you visited UNC. We hope see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On Campus Great Accessibility to College

Posted Jul 1, 2017
first time staying at this Hotel, really enjoyed the closeness to the College and Wonderful Staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Karen , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We would love to have you back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent experience

Posted May 20, 2017
Not knowing anything about Chapel Hill, it was the best choice of a hotel. We will stay there again very soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Great location

Posted May 20, 2017
First night of honeymoon was there 32 years ago. Great return trip!
5 out of 5
by Denise

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manywhere

Bugs in the bed Night 1, flying insects on Night 2

Posted May 12, 2017
I have stayed at the Carolina Inn many times over the years. While their attitude has always been one of they are doing you a favor by letting you stay there, the proximity to the campus and Franklin Street - and a tradition of visiting the Carolina Inn since 1981 - kept me there. But after this trip....Bugs in the bed on Night 1; Flying insects Night 2 - they probably sprayed some stuff and left the window open for a few hours to get the odor out (and got some insects in!!)....and, no apology from their manager...so walked across on West Franklin and saw a Hilton Property there...i did extend my stay by one night and that would have been an opportunity to make amends but......That's it; goodbye Carolina Inn...keep your attitude, keep your superiority...note this is probably the 2nd review i have ever written and i must have stayed over 1,000 nights in various hotels....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Lovely hotel in Chapel Hill, NC

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Lovely ambience in public areas, friendly staff, good food in restaurant.
Location: Hotel is on the campus of UNC with lots of restaurants nearby. Close to CRX bus that goes to Raleigh.
Charming hotel within walking distance of the Wilson Library. Delicious food in the restaurant.